Databases

Request Material in PittCat

You can request material through PittCat using Get It, even for material that we do not own. You must be signed in and then click on the item you need. Options within the item:

Request This Item
Use this to request print materials from a Pitt library or ULS - Thomas Blvd. After finding a book, click on the item, then look for Get It, Request, and follow the prompts.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
If you identify an item in PittCat that is not available through our collections, you can request it through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

If you have any questions about this, please contact us so we can work with you to try and get the material you need.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online allows users to cross-search all of the video published by Alexander Street Press. Virtually every video in the collection is fully transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type. NOTE: There are no restrictions on simultaneous users for Alexander Street Press Academic Video Online content. The vendor ProQuest advises that content can be shared on Zoom as long as you are not charging admission.
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Each volume offers abstracts and citations for some 8,000 articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
Explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
ATLA Religion This link opens in a new window
The American Theological Library Association's ATLA Religion Database, is the leading international database indexing citations in all scholarly fields of religion. It is a compilation of three printed indexes namely: Religion Index One: Periodicals, Religion Index Two: Multiple Author Works and Index to Book Reviews in Religion. It covers such topics as Biblical Studies, World Religions, Church History, and religious perspectives on social issues.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Hein Online indexes legal and legislative information available for U.S. states and territories. HeinOnline has four major library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. [Formerly titled: Academic Lexis-Nexis]
Sage Ereference This link opens in a new window
A database of 47 reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX is a comprehensive sociology database featuring citations with subject headings from a sociology specific thesaurus. It contains informative abstracts for more than 590 core journals dating back to 1985.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
The US Congressional Serial Set contains all of the US Senate and House of Representatives Reports, Documents, and Journals and constitutes a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 13,800 volumes and over 12 million pages and will cover the time period 1817 through 1994.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Native Peoples of North America - Bradford Campus

Keywords

Request Material in PittCat

Databases