In his day, Mirskey implemented a call number system that roughly organized his library of over 3000 items into categories such as marches, waltzes, overtures, selections from musicals and operas, foxtrots, photoplay music, etc. (All the categories, not just photoplay music, were fair game when it came to compiling film scores). 

Thanks to an NEH grant, Pitt's University Library System has digitized the full contents of the collection, which can be accessed through ULS Digital Collections. When searching this collection by composer or arranger, please select 'Contributor' in the dropdown 'Field' menu in the Search Box. Each piece in the collection has been fully cataloged and can also be found by searching PittCat. The PittCat record for each item includes a link to the digital version. 

The collection does not contain full scores, but rather individual instrumental parts for each musical work. Usually this includes strings, woodwinds, brass, percussion, piano, etc. There are many duplicate parts- e.g., several copies of the Violin I part. In these cases, we have chosen to scan the part with the most annotations and other evidence of use, in order to enhance the research value of the collection. In some cases, we've scanned multiple copies of the same part if they contain valuable markings. 

As of 2023, works copyrighted in 1927 and earlier are now in the public domain. A few pieces with later copyrights were added to the Mirskey Collection after this date, but Section 108h of the US Copyright Act stipulates that libraries can reproduce and distribute digital copies of works in the last 20 years of their copyright terms for purposes of preservation, scholarship, or research, if those works are not subject to normal commercial exploitation or available for purchase at a reasonable price. 

While using the Mirskey Collection, please consider its context. Most of this music was published in the United States in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Due to the nature of these historical materials, there are occurrences of language, positions, and values that do not align with our values and practices at the University of Pittsburgh. 

When harmful, offensive, or misrepresentative language is supplied by the creator of archival materials, it is recognized as best practice to retain such information so as not to censor or alter the historical record and to maintain an understanding of the context of creation.

For further information, please refer to the University Library System's full Notice on Potentially Harmful Archival Language.