Resources and Databases - Information Systems Ethics - Pittsburgh Campus

Resources

The resources listed below contain either scholarly, trade, or sometimes popular sources, and oftentimes combinations of all three. Be sure to pay attention to what type of source you are looking at to ensure you have evaluated it appropriately and so you meet your minimum requirements for scholarly and ACM sources. View this chart to learn more about types of sources.

ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) This link opens in a new window
Source Types: scholarly/academic journal articles, magazine articles, ebooks, conferences.
Result organization: By relevance.
Limiters available: People, publication, conference, date.
Ease of understanding source types: Somewhat
Full text access? Yes, through a PDF link on the results and summary pages.
Tip: When you enter the database, click on the Digital Library link at the top of the page and then the Advanced Search link.
Tip: It is difficult to refine by multiple items.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Source Types: scholarly/academic journal articles, trade/magazine articles, news articles, country reports, industry profiles, market research, SWOT analyses, working papers, book reviews.
Result organization: By newest date, but can change to author, source, or relevance.
Limiters available: date published, source type, scholarly/academic/peer-review, full-text online, geography, NAICS/Industry.
Ease to distinguish source types? Yes, there are icons.
Full-text access? Yes, there is full-text access for many articles.
Tip: Focuses on business information, rather than other topics like politics and the media.
Tip: It isn't super intuitive and you have to work to narrow your results.
IEEEXplore This link opens in a new window
Source Types: Scholarly/academic journal articles, trade/magazine articles, conferences, and books/ebooks.
Result organization: By relevance, with options for date, title, and number of citations.
Limiters available: Date published, source type, author, affiliation, publisher, title, and conference location.
Ease to distinguish source types? Yes.
Full text access? Yes, there is a PDF link.
Tip: It would be primarily helpful when looking for current computer science information.
Tip: Well organized.

PittCat
Source Types: Scholarly/academic journal articles, trade/magazine articles, news articles, books/ebooks.
Result organization: By relevance or date.
Limiters available: Date published, subject, source type, scholarly/academic/peer-review, full-text online, language, and library location.
Ease to distinguish source types? Yes.
Full text access? Yes, there is a link to view full text in most cases.
Tip: It is good for broad or general searching across subjects and source types.
Tip: Sometimes there are too many options and a lot to filter through.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Source Types: Scholarly/academic journal articles, chapters from books
Result organization: By relevance or date.
Limiters available: Date published
Ease to distinguish source types? Yes.
Full text access? Yes, there is a link to view full text in most cases.
Tip: It is good for broad or general searching across subjects and source types.
Tip: Sometimes there are too many options and a lot to filter through, not everything displayed is what we have access to at Pitt.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Information Systems Ethics - Pittsburgh Campus

Finding Information

Business Librarian

Resources