Guides: Industry Research @ Pitt: Industry Reports

Industry Reports

car and automobile industry report home page in IBIS World

Industry reports, available in databases, print resources, and websites, contain valuable analysis of an industry's operating conditions, driving forces, competitive landscapes, and more.

Be aware that many do not cover smaller niche industries and always check the date to see how current the information is.

Supplement these reports with information found in newspapers and trade publications.

Accompanying image is from the IBIS World database.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
The search works best if you know the industry's name (i.e. automobiles) or NAICS code.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology worldwide.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
You can also get some industry reports in Gartner, focused on the IT industry.
1. Search for your industry or technology (such as wearable technology)
2. At the top of the results list, select the Research tab
3. Use the Content Type filtering options on the left
Marketscope Advisor This link opens in a new window
Includes the CFRA Industry Surveys (formerly S&P Capital IQ Industry Surveys). To access them select Industry Surveys from the links on the left of the page.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
1. Type in your industry, such as "software development" in the first line and then "industry" or "market" in the second line. Add terms like "data" or "statistics" if that is what you are looking for.
2. On the results page, navigate to the Source Types option on the left. Select Industry Profiles (You may need to first click the Show More link).
Value Line This link opens in a new window
1. Once in the database, select the Markets tab in the top navigational men
2. Select the Industries tab in the purple menu
3. Scroll down and select View all industry analysis
3. Browse the results
First Research This link opens in a new window
Once in the database, search for an industry by keyword or code.

Current Industrial Reports
The Current Industrial Report (CIR) program provides monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity, including data on production and shipments of selected products
ValuationResources.com
A free resource that covers more than 400 industries. For each industry, it includes overviews, key issues, trends and the industry's outlook as well as financial bench marking, compensation surveys and valuation resources.
International Trade Administration Office of Industry Analysis
Provides information including international statistics, industry analysis, competitiveness, trade data as well as recent reports and news about a number of different industries.
Industry Outlooks (Deloitte)
Deloitte offers industry prediction reports for state government, banking and securities, commercial real estate, energy and resources, insurance, payments, process and industrial products, renewable energy, retail and talent strategies industries
Yahoo Industry Center
Yahoo Industry Center has abrowsable Industry Index where you can find financial market data by industry, compare performance of top companies within an industry, and find news and top-ranked analysts.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Industries at a Glance
From the U.S. Bureau of Labor, includes reports on over 100 industries, organized by NAICS code or industry name, focusing on employment, labor, and trends.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Industry Research @ Pitt

Industry Reports