This guide looks to introduce many of the horror genre’s most recognized films and the work that has been written in response.  Covering horror films spanning decades (a century, really!) and continents, it aims to broadly but diversely explore some of the genre’s most discussed and studied films. 

Organized by subgenre, this guide also serves as an example of the complex nuances associated with genre studies.  Subjective categorization of films provides an opportunity to explore common themes and tropes, but there is ultimately no perfect way to define and organize films.  One film can certainly exist within multiple subgenres and there are many more subgenres of horror films to consider; this guide is here to get you started with resources that lead you to explore far beyond it.  

The ULS Archives & Special Collections contains two excellent collections relevant to horror films. The Romero Collection contains an all encompassing introspective on the live and work of Pittsburgh most famous horror director. From scores of scripts that never made it to film, personal letters, promotional material, and a wealth of additional items from across Romero’s prolific career, this collection is an exceptional resource for anyone wanting to study Romero’s life or work.

Meanwhile, the Horror Scripts and Ephemera Collection contains annotated scripts that give insight to creative decisions being made or documenting changes throughout production can give new insight when studying any piece of media. 

The University of Pittsburgh’s Archival Collections are open to students and are an invaluable resource for horror research.