Skip to Main Content

Course & Subject Guides

History of the South to 1880 - Pittsburgh Campus

This guide will help Dr. Finley's HIST 1621 class with their research.

New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture

New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, Volume 1: Religion by Charles Reagan Wilson (Editor); James G. Thomas; Ann J. Abadie; University of Mississippi, Center for the Study of Southern Culture Staff (Contribution by); Samuel S. Hill (Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9780807830031
Publication Date: 2006-04-03
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, Volume 2 : Geography by Charles Reagan Wilson (Editor); James G. Thomas; Ann J. Abadie; University of Mississippi, Center for the Study of Southern Culture Staff (Contribution by); Richard Pillsbury (Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9780807830130
Publication Date: 2006-05-08
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, Volume 3: History by Charles Reagan Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9780807856918
Publication Date: 2006-09-18
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, Volume 5: Language by Charles Reagan Wilson (Editor); James G. Thomas; Ann J. Abadie; University of Mississippi, Center for the Study of Southern Culture Staff (Contribution by); Ellen Johnson (Editor); Michael Montgomery (Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9780807831144
Publication Date: 2007-07-16
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, Volume 9: Literature by M. Thomas Inge (Editor); Charles Reagan Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: F209 .N47 2006 vol. 9
ISBN: 9780807831908
Publication Date: 2008-04-07
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, Volume 10: Law and Politics by James W. Ely (Editor); Bradley G. Bond (Editor); Charles Reagan Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9780807832059
Publication Date: 2008-06-02
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, Volume 11 : Agriculture and Industry by Melissa Walker (Editor); James C. Cobb (Editor); Charles Reagan Wilson (Contribution by)
Call Number: F209 .N47 2006 vol. 11
ISBN: 9780807832400
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, Volume 12: Music by Bill C. Malone (Editor); Charles Reagan Wilson (Editor); James G. Thomas (Other Adaptation by); Ann J. Abadie (Other Adaptation by)
Call Number: F209 .N47 2006 vol. 12
ISBN: 9780807832394
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, Volume 13: Gender by Nancy Bercaw (Editor); Ted Ownby (Editor); Charles Reagan Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 0807859486
Publication Date: 2009-05-01
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, Volume 15: Urbanization by Wanda Rushing (Editor); Charles Reagan Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: F209 .N47 2006 vol. 15
ISBN: 9780807833704
Publication Date: 2010-06-07
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, Volume 21 : Art and Architecture by Judith H. Bonner (Editor); Estill Curtis Pennington (Editor); Charles Reagan Wilson (General Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9780807837184
Publication Date: 2013-01-14
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, Volume 22: Science and Medicine by James Thomas (Editor); Charles Reagan Wilson (Editor); James G. Thomas (Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9780807837207
Publication Date: 2012-11-26
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, Volume 23: Folk Art by Carol Crown (Editor); Cheryl Rivers (Editor); Charles Reagan Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: F209 .N47 2006 v.23
ISBN: 9780807834428
Publication Date: 2013-06-03

General Encyclopedias

A Companion to the American South by John B. Boles (Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 0631213198
Publication Date: 2001-10-22
The Encyclopedia of Southern History by David C. Roller (Editor); Robert W. Twyman (Editor)
Call Number: F207.7 .E52
ISBN: 0807105759
Publication Date: 1979-11-01

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books. CredoReference also includes cross-references to other full text titles containing related information.