Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Newspapers @ Pitt
A guide to finding major, historical, and foreign language newspapers available through the University Library System.
Historical News Sources
This collection provides more than 60 searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring English- and foreign-language titles.
British Library Newspapers
Includes British national and regional newspapers between 1741-1950 including those from the Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention is given to newspapers that helped lead particular political and social movements like Home Rule.
Early American Newspapers (1690-1922)
Early American Newspapers features cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images. Based largely on Clarence Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers,1690-1820".
Latin American Newspapers
Provides 33 fully searchable Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. [Formerly titled: Academic Lexis-Nexis]
New York Times (Historical)
The New York Times from 1851-2013 with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images.
Times of India
With coverage from 1861 to 2008, the Times of India provides insight into colonial and post-colonial times, class and gender issues, religion, as well as international economics, international relations and culture influence research. Full coverage of such topics as the British Raj, Gandhi, Independence and Partition.
Times of London Digital Archive 1785-2011
Provides the full text of The Times of London newspaper from 1785-2011. For current articles (1985-present) from The Times of London see Academic OneFile.
Wall Street Journal (Historical)
The Wall Street Journal from 1889-2000 with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images.
Washington Post (Historical)
The Washington Post from 1877-2000