Guides: Hiroyuki Good: Home

Liaison Areas

Provides primary support for teaching and research on Japanese Studies and Korean Studies.

Curated Digital Collections

Kōgyo: The Art of Noh
The University of Pittsburgh Library System owns and curates the largest collection of Japanese color woodblock prints depicting the Noh theatre created by the artist Tsukioka Kōgyo 月岡耕漁 (1869-1927) held outside of Japan. The four sets comprise Nōgaku zue 能樂圖繪, or Pictures of Noh; Nōgaku hyakuban 能楽百番, or Prints of One Hundred Noh Plays; Nōga taikan 能画大鑑, or A Great Collection of Prints of Noh Plays; and Kyōgen gojūban 狂言五十番, or Fifty Kyōgen Plays.
Barry Rosensteel Japanese Print Collection
This splendid collection of woodblock prints presents a glimpse of the Edo Japanese culture through meticulously reconstructed landscapes (meishoe 名所絵), portraits of various sorts—women (bijinga 美人画), actors (yakushae 役者絵), warriors (mushae 武者絵)—wildlife paintings (kachōga 花鳥画), and erotic paintings (shunga 春画, not included on this digital collection), showcasing some of Japan’s rich art history. A set of prints depicting Chinese scenes, relatively small in quantity, also add another interesting dimension to the collection.

Selected Publications

From the Chair of the Shashi Group
Essay of from the Editors on peer review and open access e-journal "Shashi: the Journal of Japanese Business and Company History". Vol. 1, No.1 (2012), University Library System, University of Pittsburgh.
学生が図書館をもっと利用するように大学図書館が変ります[University Libraries are Changing to Encourage More Student Use]
Kagaku Forum (Science Forum), 2012 (2), p.18-22, Tokyo University of Science.
北米における社史研究の現状 [Current status of studies on Japanese company histories in North America] (Japanese)
専門図書館 (Special Libraries). v. 246 (March 2011), p.36-38.
米国大学図書館におけるGIS サービスの動向－過去のアンケート調査の比較とピッツバーグ大学図書館の現状から [Trend of GIS services in US Academic Libraries –from comparison of past surveys and current situati
情報の科学と技術 [Journal of Information Science and Technology Association], v.59 no.11 (November 2009), pp. 539-544. ISSN 0913-3801
ウェブのユーザビリティ調査事例－ピッツバーグ大学 [Usability survey of library WebCat - A case study of the University of Pittsburgh, in Japanese]
情報の科学と技術 (Journal of Information Science and Technology Association). v.58 no.6 (June 2008), p.285-289.
米国における日本研究の現状－ピッツバーグ大学の現場から (Current Status of Japanese Studies in the U.S.- A report from the University of Pittsburgh, in Japanese).
国会図書館月報 (Monthly Report of National Diet Library, Japan). v. 566 (May 2008) p.16-20.
“Evolution of China's U.S. Policy (1965-72): Prelude to the Economic Reform?"
American Journal of Chinese Studies. Vol 12 (1) (2005): 1-24. Texas: Department of Political Science, the University of Texas at San Antonio. Co-authors: Hou, J., and Mead, R.
China's Food Crises and U.S. Policy Change, 1965 - 1972
Theses. 2004, California State University, Long Beach.

Selected Presentations

The Shiseido Culture: Design, Fashion and Marketing
I organized panel at AAS Annual Conference　in March 24, 2013.
Researching Early Modern and Modern History of Japan with Shashi
I organized panel at AAS Conference at Sheraton Center Toronto, Toronto, Canada in March 18, 2012.
Researching With Shashi: A Workshop on Using Japanese Company and Institutional Histories and Archives
I organized a workshop at AAS-ICAS Joint Conference at Hawaii Convention Center, Honolulu, Hawaii in March 31, 2011.
米国におけるeBooks利用の実情と動向 [Current status and trend on eBooks Usage in the United States] (Japanese)
第10回図書館総合展 [10th Library Fair and Forum] in Yokohama, Japan, November 2008
ピッツバーグ大学における日本研究の現状と日本研究支援を行う上での問題点や課題 [Current status of Japanese Studies and issues for supporting Japanese Studies in the University of Pittsburgh] (Japanese)
Japanese Studies Information Specialists Training in Tokyo, Japan, November 2007

Shashi Projects

Shashi: the Journal of Japanese Business and Company History
Shashi is a unique publication of Japanese Company Histories. The journal is an open access and peer-reviewed annual publication on the history of business and manufacturing in Japan. It especially focus on original research that utilities shashi, or methodological examinations of them.
SHASHI WIKI
Database of Japanese company history books in North America. As of December 2012, it contain about 6,000 titles of shashi by 2,960 companies.

Selected Academic and Professional Activities Outside the University

Editor in Chief, Shashi: the Journal of Japanese Business and Company History, 2012-

Chair, Japanese Company Histories (Shashi) Interest Group, Association for Asian Studies, 2007-

Co-Chair, ILL/DD Committee, North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources, 2013-2015

Member, Association for Asian Studies, 2003-

Member, Council on East Asian Libraries, 2003-

Member, Japan Art Documentation Society, 2018-

University Service

Member of Budget Policies Committee of the University Senate 2009-2015

Member of ULS Faculty Affairs Committee 2007-2008, 2015-2016

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Hiroyuki Good

Japanese & Korean Studies Librarian

Full C.V. for Print out

ORCiD

Education