Guides: Global Health Resources @ Pitt: Databases &amp; Journals

General Databases

Below are several general databases that are useful when searching for articles about global health and other factors, like economics or international affairs, that are related to global health.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary online archive of academic journals in all fields, including health policy and the health sciences, which generally become available here 3-5 years after publication.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This general database contains abstracts and full-text articles in areas related to global health, including economics, medical sciences, and women's studies.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts is your complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Access to over 380 humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This general database provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. The majority is available in full text. The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings.

Suggested e-Journals

The journals below are related to global and international health issues.

Annual Review of Public Health
ISSN : 1545-2093
BMC International Health and Human Rights
ISSN : 1472-698X
Bulletin of the World Health Organization (WHO)
Globalization and Health
ISSN : 1744-8603
International Journal of Epidemiology
ISSN : 1464-3685
Public Health
ISSN: 0033-3506

Health-Related Databases

Below are databases that are useful when searching for health- or medical-specific articles in the field of global health.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL provides abstracts on a wide range of health topics, including health education, health management, and behavioral sciences and consumer health. Provides some international perspective, with a focus on English-speaking countries.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source, through EBSCO, provides access to over 550 scholarly journals, focusing on many medical disciplines, including global health issues, public health, and public policy .
Medical Services and Warfare This link opens in a new window
Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries.
Medline (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information from biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. PsycINFO is international in scope and incorporates information from medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, and organizational behavior, and social science.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Social Work Abstracts indexes over 450 journals and documents covering all aspects of social work profession including theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems.

Political and Socioeconomic-Related Databases

These databases provide access to abstracts or full-text articles and focus on political and socioeconomic issues.

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Since its establishment in 1914, PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) has chronicled issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources. The PAIS Archive provides historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics. The OECD consists of 30 member countries sharing a commitment to democratic government and the market economy. With active relationships with some 70 other countries, NGOs and civil society, it has a global reach. Best known for its publications and its statistics, its work covers economic and social issues.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Covers all public policy issues and it draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
HRAF is an acronym for Human Relations Area Files, a non-profit institution founded in 1949 at Yale University. HRAF is a consortium of educational, research, and cultural organizations, and government agencies; its mission is to encourage and facilitate the study of human culture, society, and behavior.
AccessUN (1945 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to documents and publications of UN periodicals.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
CountryWatch provides up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Global Health Resources @ Pitt

Christopher Lemery

General Databases

Suggested e-Journals

Health-Related Databases

Political and Socioeconomic-Related Databases