Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
A database is an online collection of articles that you can search by topic or keyword. Databases are great sources for articles because much of the material in ULS databases is the high quality, scholarly research information that most professors want. The databases below are good places to start your search.
Academic Search Premier
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES)
The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) covers North American scholarship on East-Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union. It contains bibliographic citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications since 1990.
Central and Eastern European Online Library
CEEOL is a leading provider of academic e-journals and e-books in the Humanities and Social Sciences from and about Central and Eastern Europe. Currently, over 600 publishers entrust CEEOL with their high-quality journals and e-books and the database covers more than 1,100 journals and 350,000 articles.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Historical Abstracts is your complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
JSTOR is an online collection of academic journals in all fields.
North American Immigrant Letters & Diaries
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories (IMLD) provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. Much of the material is previously unpublished. Several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews, indexed and searchable for the first time, are included. The materials begin around 1840 and extend to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980.
Since its establishment in 1914, PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) has chronicled issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources. The PAIS Archive provides historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies.
Access to over 380 humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
SocINDEX is a comprehensive sociology database featuring citations with subject headings from a sociology specific thesaurus. It contains informative abstracts for more than 590 core journals dating back to 1985.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.