Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
The Snowden Files
The following websites provide access to many of the NSA documents leaked by Edward Snowden beginning in 2013. Many of these documents are not yet declassified.
The Manning/WikiLeaks Files
The following websites provide access to documents published by WikiLeaks. Many of these documents are not yet declassified.
Public Library of US Diplomacy
(WikiLeaks) Includes the Kissinger Cables, a set of more than 1.7 million declassified US diplomatic records for the period 1973 to 1976; and Cablegate, a set of more than 250,000 US diplomatic cables from the years 1966-2010 leaked by Pvt. Manning and originally published by WikiLeaks in 2010-2011. Many of these are not yet declassified.
WikiLeaks War Diaries
(WikiLeaks) Search the Iraq and Afghan War Diaries, leaked by Pvt. Manning and made public by Wikileaks in 2010. The documents are a set of over 391,000 reports which cover the war in Iraq from 2004 to 2009 and the war in Afghanistan from 2004 to 2009.
Additional collections of documents released by WikiLeaks can be found on their main website.
The Pentagon Papers
The Pentagon Papers, officially titled "Report of the Office of the Secretary of Defense Vietnam Task Force", was commissioned by Secretary of Defense Robert McNamara in 1967.
This classified report was leaked to the media in 1971 by Daniel Ellsberg. It was finally declassified in 2011, when the National Archives and Records Administration released the complete text of the report for the first time.
Pitt Databases for Declassified Documents
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
(Pitt users only) USDDO provides full-text, declassified documents from U.S. government agencies, including the CIA, FBI, White House, State Department, and others.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
(Pitt users only) The Digital National Security Archive contains over 40,000 U.S. government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act. These documents derive from the CIA, the FBI, the Defense Department and numerous other government agencies.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
Produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, Foreign Relations of the United States is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication.
Many of the Presidential Libraries, administered by the Office of Presidential Libraries under the National Archives and Records Administration, provide access to scanned, declassified documents.
Virtual Reading Rooms of Various Agencies
Additional Web Sites for Declassified Documents