Getting Started - Classics Resources - Pittsburgh Campus

Liaison Librarian

she/her

Subjects: Linguistics

PittCat

PittCat is the main searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library System (ULS), including articles, books, ebooks, journal articles, ejournals, audio and video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.

PittCat
Access PittCat directly or use the ULS homepage.

Related resources

ATLA Religion This link opens in a new window
The American Theological Library Association's ATLA Religion Database, is the leading international database indexing citations in all scholarly fields of religion. It is a compilation of three printed indexes namely: Religion Index One: Periodicals, Religion Index Two: Multiple Author Works and Index to Book Reviews in Religion. It covers such topics as Biblical Studies, World Religions, Church History, and religious perspectives on social issues.

Full-text Journal collections

Cambridge University Press This link opens in a new window
Cambridge University Press dates from 1534 and is the publishing business of the University of Cambridge. Their purpose is to further the University's objective of advancing learning, knowledge and research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The definitive database on the nature and use of language, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, covers three fundamental areas: research in linguistics, research in language, and research in speech, language, and hearing pathology.
Oxford University Press (OUP) - Electronic Journals This link opens in a new window
Database publishes well over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Access to over 380 humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.

Databases

These databases contain in-depth articles and information on this subject.

Bibliography of the History of Art Repertoire de la litterature de l'art This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of the History of Art is the most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. This database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and articles from over 4,300 periodicals.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Index provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles with coverage dating as far back as 1925. HII contains more than 1.6 million records and includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works.
International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the definitive resource for scholarly literature on western art. Coverage from 1975-2007 is provided in the Bibliography of the History of Art database.
L'Annee Philologique (APh) This link opens in a new window
L'Année Philologique is the most comprehensive index for scholarly research in Classical Studies.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Database allows you to search within Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encylopedia of Aesthetics, and the Consice Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Oxford University Press (OUP) - Electronic Journals This link opens in a new window
Database publishes well over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations.
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
An open access archive, index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by a community of philosophers. They monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Collections of full-text books and book information

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
The ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection is an online repository of full-text, digital books. Extensive insight to field of history, women's studies, religion and performance arts.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Pitt is a HathiTrust Partner Institution; you can log in with your Pitt username and password to get the most out of HathiTrust. For more information, review the HathiTrust Resource Guide
Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of over 5000 Latin works and over 5000 diplomatic charters. It was formerly divided into Series A and Series B. Series A consisted of over 4000 works in the Latin language by over 1000 authors, which originated in 1991 as the Cetedoc Library of Christian Latin Texts. Series B was a supplemental collection of over 1000 additional Latin works and over 5000 diplomatic charters. The two series have now been combined into one collection.
Patrologiae Graecae This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
Patrologia Latina Database This link opens in a new window
The first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. Also contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The WorldCat database is the OCLC Online Union Catalog. It contains more than 450 million records in 484 languages describing items owned by our libraries or 10,000 other libraries around the world.

Reference Sources

Oxford Classical Dictionary
The Oxford Classical Dictionary is the ultimate reference on the classical world. It contains over 6000 articles, including full-text contributions with multimedia.
Oxford Bibliographies - Classics
Encyclopedia-like coverage of some of the most important topics from the classical world; consists of short articles accompanied by extensive annotated bibliographies.

Brill's New Pauly (22 Vols) by Hubert Cancik (Editor); Helmuth Schneider (Editor); Manfred Landfester (Editor)
ISBN: 9004122591
Publication Date: 2011-05-10
Brill s New Pauly is the first lexicographic project that both differentiates between Greco-Roman antiquity itself and its subsequent images, and demonstrates the close connection between antiquity and its aftermath. Volumes 1 to 15 (Antiquity) are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity. Volumes I to V (Classical Tradition) are uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of the classical heritage. Index Antiquity relates to the 15 volumes of Brill s New Pauly that deal with Antiquity. Index The Classical Tradition, relates to the 5 volumes of Brill s New Pauly that deal with the Classical Tradition.
Brill's New Pauly, Classical Tradition, Volume I (a-Del) by Manfred Landfester (Editor)
ISBN: 9004142215
Publication Date: 2006-08-01
BRILL'S NEW PAULY is the English edition of the authoritative DER NEUE PAULY. Fifteen volumes (Antiquity, 1-15) of BRILL'S NEW PAULY are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Five volumes (Classical Tradition, I-V) are uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity.
Thesaurus linguae latinae
Call Number: f PA2361 .T413
Publication Date: 1900 -

Corpus Medicorum Graecorum/Latinorum - Editionen
Full text, and downloadable, open access online editions of out-of-print titles within the following series as well as other resources: CMG, CML, Suppl. and Suppl. Or

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Classics Resources - Pittsburgh Campus: Getting Started