Databases - Bleak House - Pittsburgh Campus - Guides at University of Pittsburgh

ULS Databases

Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers
his collection includes national and regional newspapers including those from the Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention is given to newspapers that helped lead paricular political and social movements like Home Rule.
19th Century Collections Online
A global digitization and publishing porgram focused on archival collections of primary sources. The collection includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more in both Western and non-Western languages.
19th Century UK Periodicals
This database contains 1.2 million pages of periodicals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900. It includes publications on women, children, leisure and sport, and humor.

British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to the searchable fulltext periodicals, including those of the Victorian Era via high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.When complete, this digital archive will consist of nearly 500 periodicals dating from the 1680s to the 1930s. This is one option for accessing Household Words. Browse to discover other content that relates to your research.

19th Century British Pamphlets
ncludes the personal collections of Joseph Cowen (1829-1900) and Joseph Hume (1777-1855) as well as the Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, the Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, selected pamphlets from the London School of Economics and Political Science and selections from the University of Bristol. All sources relating to political, economic and social developments in 19thc Britain.

Household Words
This publication is available fulltext from the British Periodicals database. Search by year, volume, issue, and look through the Contents. Or use the "search within this publication" feature.