Course Texts & Scholarly Articles - Medieval Imagination - Oakland Campus

Course Texts

Beowulf by Joseph Tuso; Nicholas Howe; E. Talbot Donaldson
Call Number: PR1583 D6 2002
ISBN: 9780393974065
Publication Date: 1998-11-05

You'll find these books on reserve at Hillman.

The Cambridge Companion to Medieval Romance by Roberta L. Krueger (Editor)
Call Number: PN671 C36 2000
ISBN: 9780521556873
Publication Date: 2000-06-22
The Cambridge Companion to Medieval Women's Writing by Carolyn Dinshaw (Editor); David Wallace (Editor)
Call Number: PN682 W6 C36 2003
ISBN: 9780521791885
Publication Date: 2003-05-22
Listening to Heloise by Bonnie Wheeler, Ed.
Call Number: BX4705 H463 L57 2000
ISBN: 0333800303
Publication Date: 2000
The Postmodern Beowulf by Mary K. Ramsey; Eileen A. Joy (Editor); Bruce Gilchrist (As told to)
Call Number: PR1585 P67 2006
ISBN: 1933202084
Publication Date: 2006-09-20
Sodomy, Masculinity and Law in Medieval Literature by William E. Burgwinkle; Alastair Minnis (Contribution by); Patrick Boyde (Contribution by); John Burrow (Contribution by); Rita Copeland (Contribution by); Alan Deyermond (Contribution by); Peter Dronke (Contribution by); Nigel Palmer (Contribution by); Wi
Call Number: PN682 H65 B87 2004
ISBN: 0521839688
The Wife of Bath by Peter G. Beidler (Editor); Geoffrey Chaucer
Call Number: PR1868 W592 B45 1996
ISBN: 0312111282
Publication Date: 1995-12-15

Request Material in PittCat

You can request material through PittCat using Get It, even for material that we do not own. You must be signed in and then click on the item you need. Options within the item:

Request This Item
Use this to request print materials from a Pitt library or ULS - Thomas Blvd. After finding a book, click on the item, then look for Get It, Request, and follow the prompts.
Request a Scan
Use this to request a scanned book chapter or an article. After finding an article or to request a book chapter, click on the item, then look for Get It, Request, and follow the prompts.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
If you identify an item in PittCat that is not available through our collections, you can request it through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

If you have any questions about this, please contact us so we can work with you to try and get the material you need.

Literary Criticism and Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Premier
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, making it useful for interdisciplinary research. Subjects covered include biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series.

Literature Resource Center
This rich literature reference database includes biographical, bibliographical, and critical content on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.
Literature Criticism Online
Find literary criticism and author information from several Gale resources. Topics covered include:
English Poetry
Shakespeare Criticism
Literature Criticism 1400-1800
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Medieval & Renaissance Studies Databases

Here's a selection of great databases for your research. In addition, see other resources available in the Encyclopedias & Dictionaries tab.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
*A bibliography of more than 1,047,000 records for articles, essays, books, dissertation abstracts, encyclopedia entries and reviews from 9,757 publications, including 1,707 journals for study of the Middle Ages & the Renaissance.
mine
The Journal Citation section is a bibliography of citations indexed from complete runs of 500+ scholarly journal titles pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). The Books section is a bibliography of citations for monographs, material published in monographs, and collected essays of the same time period.
Bibliography of the History of Art
This most comprehensive art bibliography available covers European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and articles from over 4,300 periodicals. Broad in scope, the bibliography's citations encompass fine arts-painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture-as well as decorative and applied arts-crafts, graphic arts, and folk and popular art among them.

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Early English Books seeks to be a comprehensive collection of all books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the English language in any country from earliest times through 1700. This includes books on philosophy, religion, science, politics, exploration and poetry, prose and drama. Contains over 96,000 titles -- 230 years of English printing.

Brepolis Medieval Bibliographies
Includes International Medieval Bibliography, Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale, and International Directory of Medievalists
English Drama
This database of English verse drama begins with the late 13th century Shrewsbury Fragments and extends to the end of the 19th century.
Feminae: Midieval Women and Gender Index
This index includes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages (450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. with Russia extending to 1613) in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East as well as areas in which Europeans travelled. Index does not include books by a single author.
Medieval Travel Writing
This extensive collection of travel writing manuscripts includes accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China as well as a collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries across Europe and dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. Also contains fully searchable translations and support materials, and maps showing the routes of the travelers.
Middle English Compendium
Easy access to the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica
This freely available resource from MGH allows both searching and browsing through the text. German language.
Patrologia Latina
This database represents the 221 volume first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865). This important resource covers philosophical and theological writings from Latin Christianity up to the year 1216.

Middle English Dictionary

MED: Middle English Dictionary
This online version of the print format Middle English Dictionary which has been describes as "the greatest achievement in medieval scholarship in America" makes finding definitions easy! Just click Look Up and enter the word and run the search

Available from University of Michigan, this resource offers a comprehensive analysis of lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500, based on the analysis of a collection of over three million citation slips, the largest collection of this kind.

The Anglo-Norman Dictionary

This online resource is an expansion of the print format Anglo Norman Dictionary originally published between 1977 and 1992 by the Modern Humanities Research Association (MHRA).

The 136,000+ citations contained in the approximately 24,800 full entries are indexed and fully searchable. English to Anglo-Norman translations and glosses within the entries are indexed and searchable, too. Visit The Anglo-Norman Online Hub http://www.anglo-norman.net/ to learn more.

An Anglo-Norman Dictionary

Enter your keywords, like medieval armor, in the search box...

This box will search all of your Credo Reference titles.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Medieval Imagination - Oakland Campus: Course Texts & Scholarly Articles