Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Genealogical and Family History Resources @ Pitt: Ethnic Guides

This guide provides an overview of genealogical and other family history resources available at the Archives & Special Collections and Hillman Library.

Ethnic History in Pittsburgh

As a thriving industrial town, Pittsburgh became a melting pot of cultures in the 19th and 20th centuries. In this guide, we've highlighted resources for some of the most prominent ethnic groups in the region, including information on organizations, churches, newspapers, oral history collections, and more. Some resources that are useful across ethnic lines are included on this page. Remember, this is not an all-inclusive list; if you don't see the information you're looking for, feel free to contact us to see if we can help.

A helpful place to start may be the Resources on the Ethnic and the Immigrant in the Pittsburgh Area guide, which is available both in Hillman and at the Archives & Special Collections. This is a compilation of resources available for the study of the ethnic immigrant experience in the Pittsburgh area, and which are available in various Pittsburgh institutions, agencies, and organizations. It also includes resources available from places other than Pittsburgh, such as the Genealogical Society in Salt Lake City, and the Library of Congress.

 

Archives & Special Collections

David Grinnell's picture
David Grinnell
Contact:
Archives & Special Collections

7500 Thomas Boulevard

412-648-3243
412-648-3243
Subjects:Archives