Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
One of the most memorable images from the Homestead Steel Strike was on the July 16, 1892, cover of Harper's Weekly. This drawing by W. P. Snyder shows the surrendering Pinkerton guards being lead from their barges through a gauntlet of angry Homestead citizens and strike sympathizers.
Local Labor Unions
July 18 No. 136 Donation to Homestead Widows and Orphans. 500
After the Battle of Homestead, other Pittsburgh area labor unions quickly rallied in defense of their fellow workers. During the riot a trainload of steelworkers from the city arrived in Homestead as the skirmish began to settle, but in the aftermath unions pledged financial support and condemned the actions of the Carnegie Steel Company. Although the Homestead Steel Strike was ultimately a setback for the American Labor Movement, the sense of brotherhood exhibited in these meeting minutes show the type of solidarity that unions needed to thrive.
Typographical Union No. 7
Meeting minutes in which the local union passed resolutions in support of the Homestead strikers and granted aid to them and their families.
Box 1, Pittsburgh Typographical Union No. 7 Records, 1836-1975, AIS.1991.08, Archives & Special Collections, University of Pittsburgh Library System
Brewery Workers Union Local 22
Meeting minutes in which the union decides to donate $100 to the striking steelworkers in Homestead.
Box 1, International Union of United Brewery, Flour, Cereal, Soft Drink, and Distillery Workers of America, Local No. 22 (Brewery Union Workers) Records, 1887-1892, AIS.1988.10, Archives & Special Collections, University of Pittsburgh Library System
Bricklayers Union Local 2
Excerpt of meeting minutes in which the local union decides to form a committee to draft resolutions condemning Carnegie Steel's actions.
Box 1, International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers Local 9 Minute Books, 1889-1994, AIS.2000.10, Archives & Special Collections, University of Pittsburgh Library System
Carpenters District Council
Excerpts of meeting minutes in which the council forms a Homestead support committee, participates in a picnic fundraiser, and receives communication from the American Federation of Labor regarding Homestead Day.
Reel 1, United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America Western Pennsylvania Regional District Council of Carpenters Records, Pittsburgh, Pa., 1887-1975, AIS.1996.12, Archives & Special Collections, University of Pittsburgh Library System
Microfilm held by the University of Pittsburgh Library System contains microfilm copies of the National Labor Tribune, Pittsburgh Post, and Pittsburgh Commercial Gazette newspapers that cover the time period of the strike. In addition, the Google News Archive does include historical Pittsburgh newspapers, such as the Pittsburgh Press from 1888-1992. The Library of Congress' website Chronicling America also has digitized historic newspapers that document the strike.
Henry Clay Frick utilized a company to create scrapbooks of newspaper articles that mentioned him and his companies. As a result, Frick inadvertently commissioned a history of the Homestead Steel Strike composed entirely of newspaper accounts leading up to the conflict and the aftermath of the riot, including the assassination attempt by Alexander Berkman.
Scrapbook, June 2 - July 23, 1892
This scrapbook documents the waning days of the contract negotiations, the lockout of the workers, the Battle of Homestead, and the aftermath including the attempt on Frick's life.
Box 18, Henry Clay Frick Business Records, 1862-1987, AIS.2002.06, Archives & Special Collections, University of Pittsburgh Library System