Writing & Citing - Introduction to Dramatic Art: THEA 0810 - Oakland Campus

Citing Sources Using a Citation Manager

Keep track of all of your reference lists and bibliographies. Pitt's library resources work with citation management tools and allow you to import citations from sources like PittCat and article databases.

Mendeley
Mendeley manages your reference lists and serves as an academic social network. Organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.
EndNote
EndNote allows you to search online bibliographic databases, organize references and create and format instant bibliographies. It's integrated with Microsoft Word as well.
Zotero
Zotero is an application that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, connects with your web browser to download sources, and best of all it's free.
Citation Help
Need help with formatting citations? Use this brief guide to five major styles.

Putting it all together

Organizing your research and putting your ideas down on paper can be difficult. You can get writing help at the Writing Center.

Oakland Writing Center
Located at 317B O'Hara Student Center (OSC), 4024 O'Hara St. The OSC is across the street from Thaw Hall.
Schedule an Appointment Online
You can schedule an appointment online for online remote tutoring (synchronous) or etutoring (asynchronous). sessions.
more...less...
On Hold: You can schedule an appointment online or drop into their office at 317B O'Hara Student Center (OSC), 4024 O'Hara St., or Hillman Library.
Satellite Site at Hillman Library
NOTE: The Satellite Site at Hillman is not operating at this time.
more...less...
On Hold: You can make an appointment or drop in during the operating hours at Hillman.

Citing Sources

Correctly citing information is an essential skill for any academic researcher. Our Major Citation Styles guide provides links to several online style guides covering the basics of correctly citing your sources.

It's often best to consult the official style guides when in doubt. Most ULS libraries will have copies of such popular citation style guides as the American Psychological Association, the Modern Language Association, or the Chicago Manual of Style.

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable version of the standard Chicago Manual of Style, including a Quick Guide for sample citations. Chicago Style Q&A as well as examples of style sheets, letters, and forms are also available on the site.

The Chicago Manual of Style
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
This title is held in most ULS libraries; please check the link for your library.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.
Publication Date: 2019
The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing.