Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Materials & Methods for Theatre Research - Oakland Campus: Article Databases

This is an online guide to resources for Prof. McConachie's THEA 2201: Materials & Methods for Theatre Research

How do I Find Articles . .

If you’re looking for articles on a topic, search an Article Database.

  • If you know the name of the database to search, start at the Databases A-Z list.
  • If you’re not sure which database to search, you can search databases in a particular Subject, or just ask a librarian for guidance by calling 412-648-3331 or chatting online at Ask-A-Librarian.

If you have a citation to an article, search PittCat.

If the journal is online, the PittCat record will offer a link directly to the journal database. If the ULS doesn’t subscribe to the journal online, PittCat will list any paper volumes and issues we have of that journal.  You can also use the Citation Linker to see if the article you are searching for is available online.

If you’re off-campus . . try the E-journal search.

Search  the Ejournal search by journal title or International Standard Serial Number (ISSN) to find out if we have a particular journal online, and be linked directly to the online subscription.  Remember  that not all journals or issues of journals are available online.  To see if we have a journal either online or in paper, search PittCat for the journal title.

If we don’t have the journal or article you need, request the article for free through Interlibrary Loan.

Theatre Reviews

Biographical Databases

History Databases

See also the History Databases list.

Core Theatre Arts Databases

These databases contain in-depth articles and information on this subject.

Theatre Online Collections

Literature Databases

Reference Databases