Skip to Main Content

Course & Subject Guides

Chemistry Capstone - Bradford Campus

This guide provides research assistance to undergraduate students in Dr. Francis Mulcahy's CHEM 1451 Capstone: Chemistry at the Bradford Campus.

ACS Style

Examples of Most Journal Articles

Typical Examples of Citations of Published Journal Articles
Variation description Example
typical citation
▪

Foster, J. C.; Varlas, S.; Couturaud, B.; Coe, J.; O’Reilly, R. K. Getting into Shape: Reflections on a New Generation of Cylindrical Nanostructures’ Self-Assembly Using Polymer Building Blocks. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2019, 141 (7), 2742−2753. DOI: 10.1021/jacs.8b08648
one-word journal title
▪

Eid, K.; Sliem, M. H.; Al-Kandari, H.; Sharaf, M. A.; Abdullah, A. M. Rational Synthesis of Porous Graphitic-like Carbon Nitride Nanotubes Codoped with Au and Pd as an Efficient Catalyst for Carbon Monoxide Oxidation. Langmuir 2019, 35 (5), 3421−3431. DOI: 10.1021/acs.langmuir.8b03588
article or elocation number instead of page numbers
▪

Jandke, J.; Yang, F.; Hlobil, P.; Engelhardt, T.; Rau, D.; Zakeri, K.; Gao, C.; Schmalian, J.; Wulfhekel, W. Unconventional Pairing in Single FeSe Layers. Phys. Rev. B 2019, 100 (2), 020503. DOI: 10.1103/PhysRevB.100.020503
more than 10 authors
▪

Vigren, E.; Hamberg, M.; Zhaunerchyk, V.; Kaminska, M.; Semaniak, J.; Larsson, M.; Thomas, R. D.; af Ugglas, M.; Kashperka, I.; Millar, T. J.; et al. Dissociative Recombination of Protonated Formic Acid: Implications for Molecular Cloud and Cometary Chemistry. Astrophys. J.  2010, 709 (2), 1429−1434. DOI: 10.1088/0004-637X/709/2/1429

How do I find the shortened journal name?

A photo of the CASSI screen showing the abbreviated title for Advanced Chemistry Letters journal

Author Names within the Text

An author’s family name optionally may be mentioned in the text. If this is done, the following guidelines apply:
▪

Place the reference citation number in a logical place in the sentence as close as possible to where the name is mentioned.
▪

Whenever authors are named, if a reference has two authors, give both family names joined by the word “and”.
▪

If a reference has more than two authors, give only the family name of the first author listed, followed by “et al.” (abbreviation for the Latin phrase et alia, meaning “and others”).

  ○

Do not italicize et al.
  ○

Do not use a comma before et al.
  ○

Always use a period after et al.
▪

It is sometimes necessary to simultaneously cite more than one paper by the same author with more than one coauthor. The coauthors may not be the same in all of the papers. With the parenthetical or superscript system, use the family name of the most prominent author, followed by “and co-workers” or “and colleagues”.

Books, Encyclopedias, and Theses

Source type Example
ebook Hammond, C. The Basics of Crystallography and Diffraction, 4th ed.; International Union of Crystallography Texts on Crystallography, Vol. 21; Oxford University Press, 2015. DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780198738671.001.0001
book in print Frankel, F. Picturing Science and Engineering; MIT Press, 2018.
ebook chapter Hammond, C. Crystal Symmetry. In The Basics of Crystallography and Diffraction, 4th ed.; International Union of Crystallography Texts on Crystallography, Vol. 21; Oxford University Press, 2015; pp 99−134. DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780198738671.003.0004
book chapter in print Bard, A. J.; Faulkner, L. R. Double-Layer Structure and Absorption. In Electrochemical Methods: Fundamentals and Applications, 2nd ed.; John Wiley & Sons, 2001; pp 534−579.
ebook with editors Mom the Chemistry Professor: Personal Accounts and Advice from Chemistry Professors Who Are Mothers, 2nd ed.; Woznack, K., Charlebois, A., Cole, R. S., Marzabadi, C. H., Webster, G., Eds.; Springer, 2018. DOI: 10.1007/978-3-319-78972-9
ebook series Gaede, H. C. Professional Development for REU Students. In Best Practices for Chemistry REU Programs; Griep, M. A, Watkins, L., Eds.; ACS Symposium Series, Vol. 1295; American Chemical Society, 2018; pp 33−44. DOI: 10.1021/bk-2018-1295.ch003
encyclopedia article in print Chloramines and Bromamines. In Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 4th ed.; Wiley, 1993; Vol. 4, pp 931−932.
encyclopedia article with author and/or editor Vallero, D. A. Air Pollution, ver. 3. In Kirk‐Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology; Wiley, 2015. Updated March 16, 2015. DOI: 10.1002/0471238961.01091823151206.a01.pub3
encyclopedia article with no author Lithium-Ion Battery Anodes Produced from Waste Plastic Bags. In AccessScience; AccessScience Eds.; McGraw-Hill Education, 2019. DOI: 10.1036/1097-8542.BR0301191 (last reviewed March 2019).
thesis or dissertation Cable, M. L. Life in Extreme Environments: Lanthanide-Based Detection of Bacterial Spores and Other Sensor Design Pursuits. Ph.D. Dissertation, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA, 2010. http://resolver.caltech.edu/CaltechTHESIS:05102010-145436548 (accessed 2019-09-10).
thesis or dissertation in print Tsien, R. Y. The Design and Use of Organic Chemical Tools in Cellular Physiology. Ph.D. Thesis, University of Cambridge, Cambridge, U.K., 1976.

Websites, Newspapers, Magazines, Federal Agency Publications, and Streaming Media

Source type Example
website ACS Publications Home Page. https://pubs.acs.org/ (accessed 2019-02-21).
document from a website American Chemical Society, Committee on Chemical Safety, Task Force for Safety Education Guidelines. Guidelines for Chemical Laboratory Safety in Academic Institutions. American Chemical Society, 2016. https://www.acs.org/content/dam/acsorg/about/governance/committees/chemicalsafety/publications/acs-safety-guidelines-academic.pdf (accessed 2019-02-21).
newspaper Beauge, J. School District Sued Over Burns Girl Suffered During Chemistry Class Demonstration. PennLive (Harrisburg, PA), November 17, 2018, updated November 17, 2018. https://www.pennlive.com/news/2018/11/school_district_sued_over_burn.html (accessed 2019-02-22).
newspaper article from a database Hawthorn, M. The Evolution of Ethylene Oxide. Chicago Tribune (Chicago, IL), December 23, 2018, 12. https://search.proquest.com/docview/2159847662?accountid=13567 (accessed 2019-09-15 from ProQuest: US Major Dailies Newstream).
federal governmental agency publication Department of Commerce, United States Patent and Trademark Office. Section 706.02 Rejection of Prior Art [R-07.2015]. Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP), 9th ed., rev. 08.2017, last revised January 2018. https://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/pac/mpep/s706.html#d0e58220 (accessed 2019-03-20).
streaming media American Chemical Society. Game of Thrones Science: Sword Making and Valyrian Steel. Reactions. YouTube, April 15, 2015. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cHRcGoje4j4 (accessed 2019-02-28).

Safety Data Sheets

Source type Example
SDS 1,4'-Bipiperidine, 99%; CAS RN: 4897-50-1; B22028; rev. 1; Alfa Aesar, Thermo Fisher Scientific: Fair Lawn, NJ, February 20, 2018. https://www.alfa.com/en/catalog/sds/B22028/ (accessed 2019-10-07).
SDS from a third-party provider Formic Acid, 88%; CAS RN: 64-18-6; A119P-500; rev. 4; Fisher Scientific, One Reagent Lane, Fair Lawn, NJ, January 18, 2018. Retrieved from Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety, Web Information Service. http://ccinfoweb2.ccohs.ca/msds/records/6333749.html (accessed 2019-10-07).

Conferences, Data, Patents, Software, Standards, & Technical Reports

Source type Example
conference abstract Okita, J.; Iwamoto, T.; Kira, M. Novel Synthetic Route for Hydrosilyllithiums. In Book of Abstracts, 2000 International Chemical Congress of Pacific Basin Societies (PACIFICHEM 2000), Honolulu, HI; Paper INOR 216.
conference proceedings Nilsson, A.; Petersson, F.; Persson, H. W.; Jönsson, H.; Laurell, T. Manipulation of Suspended Particles in a Laminar Flow. In Micro Total Analysis Systems 2002, Proceedings of the μTAS 2002 Symposium, Nara, Japan, November 3−7, 2002; Baba, Y., Shoji, S., van den Berg, A., Eds.; Kluwer Academic Publishers: Dordrecht, The Netherlands, 2002; Vol. 2, pp 751−753. DOI: 10.1007/978-94-010-0504-3_50
data from a database 4-Bromo-2-fluorotoluene. SDBSWeb. National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology. n.d. https://sdbs.db.aist.go.jp (accessed 2019-03-17). (CAS RN: 51436-99-8).
database SpectraBase. Bio-Rad Laboratories. https://spectrabase.com/ (accessed 2020-01-05).
patent Lois-Caballe, C.; Baltimore, D.; Qin, X.-F. Method for Expression of Small RNA Molecules within a Cell. US 7 732 193 B2, 2010.
software Schrödinger Release 2019-3: BioLuminate; Schrödinger, LLC: New York, 2019. https://www.schrodinger.com/products/bioluminate (accessed 2019-09-08).
standard ASTM International. Standard Test Method for Tensile Properties of Plastics; ASTM D638-14; West Conshohocken, PA, 2014. DOI: 10.1520/D0638-14
technical report Hung, C.-C.; Hurst, J.; Santiago, D. Boron Nitride Nanoribbons from Exfoliation of Boron Nitride Nanotubes; NASA/TM-2017-219455; National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Glenn Research Center: Cleveland, OH, 2017. https://ntrs.nasa.gov/search.jsp?R=2017000388 (accessed 2019-09-10).