Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Databases that list and describe individual articles that have been published in the neuroscience literature (indexing databases) are good sources of information for your paper. Those listed here can help you identify relevant peer-reviewed and scholarly literature.
Search engines search broadly across the web. Remember that links to full text will only work if the article is freely available or the ULS has access to the article and you are searching through the Pitt network or have logged into EZProxy.
Google Scholar does a broad search across all subject areas. It retrieves more scholarly results than Google, but can't search everything that has been published. Use the Advanced Search feature to tailor your search.
Academic Search Premier
Covers most academic subjects including neuroscience, biological sciences, chemistry, ecology, environmental and earth sciences, mathematics, medicine, psychology, and physics. It includes both scholarly journals and general audience publications such as magazines and newspapers. This database might be useful in identifying issues of broad public interest and finding background information, key terms, and researchers' names as you select and refine your research topic.
Broad coverage of all aspects of the biological literature, including neuroscience, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, pharmacology, agriculture, ecology, immunology, microbiology, molecular genetics, plant science, public health, toxicology, and zoology. Includes journal articles, review articles, international conferences, books, book chapters, patents, and software reviews.
Provides authoritative coverage of the medically oriented literature, including neuroscience, biomedical science, dentistry, nursing, and veterinary science. It includes journal articles, reviews, conferences, clinical studies, and more. Medline is produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Medline is also available through ISI with another search interface.
Covers the research literature of psychology and related disciplines, including neuroscience. It includes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and technical reports.
Searches much the same information as Medline. This free resource is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine.
A repository of full text articles on medicine and related sciences. Medline and PubMed records may link to the articles available in this database.
Broad coverage of the sciences includes: agriculture, biological sciences, chemistry, computer science, ecology, engineering, environmental and earth sciences, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, and physics. It covers journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, and some book series, as well as scientific web pages.
Web of Science
Broad coverage of the sciences includes: agriculture, biological sciences, chemistry, computing, ecology, engineering, environmental and earth sciences, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, and physics. Pitt's access focuses mostly on journal literature. It includes extensive citation searching capability.
PittCat is the main searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library System (ULS), including articles, books, ebooks, journal articles, ejournals, audio and video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.
Access PittCat directly or use the ULS homepage.
Do We Own It?
Research databases often list articles from more sources than the library owns. If you already have a reference to a specific article, or a database record does not link to the full text of an article, how can you find out if the article is available?
Enter the title of the journal to see if the year you need is available online.
Full Text Finder
Enter as much information as you have from the reference to see if it can be matched to an online source.
Enter the title of the journal to find out if the library owns a print or electronic version. Records for print journals show what years are available and where. Records for electronic journals link to the webpage for the journal.
Alternatively, search PittCat for the article itself to see whether the full text is linked to its record.
Request Material in PittCat
You can request material through PittCat using Get It, even for material that we do not own. You must be signed in and then click on the item you need. Options within the item:
Request This Item
Use this to request print materials from a Pitt library or ULS - Thomas Blvd. for No-Contact Pick-Up or Home Delivery. After finding a book, click on the item, then look for Get It, Request, and follow the prompts.
Request a Scan
Use this to request a scanned book chapter or an article. After finding an article or to request a book chapter, click on the item, then look for Get It, Request, and follow the prompts.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
If you identify an item in PittCat that is not available through our collections, you can request it through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.
If you have any questions about this, please contact us so we can work with you to try and get the material you need.