Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Information regarding the Archives Service Center (ASC) located at 7500 Thomas Boulevard, which is about 4 miles from Oakland.
Search Finding Aids
This link will take you to search the archives collection finding aids to discover what materials are at the ASC.
The Archives Service Center has developed its own citation guide to assist researchers in properly attributing credit to material they cite from collections held here. One intention for this guide is to provide advice for adequate citation to manuscript materials without regard to any specific style manual.
Archives Service Center
The Archives Service Center is open Monday through Friday, 9 am to 4:45 pm. At this time we do not have weekend hours. When conducting research in archives, large blocks of time are more useful that short stints. Block out at least 2 hours for visits.
Policies & Procedures for Use of Collections
- All researchers must fill out the Researcher Registration form the first time they visit
- Food or drink is not permitted in the reading room
- Please keep your cell phone on vibrate or silent. If you receive a call, please use the second floor lobby to take it
- Ask at the archivist at the reference desk for a locker key to place your belonging such as coat and book bags. Only bring in material you need to complete your research. Laptops, notebooks, and digital cameras are permitted. Please use only pencil when taking notes (the ASC can provide pencils)
- Please use only one box at a time. Please take only one folder per box at a time. This will ensure that all folders are returned to the correct box in the correct order
- Ask for white cotton gloves if you will be handling photographs
- Please handle all materials delicately
- Photocopies are available for .25 cents per page. ASC staff will do all photocopying for you. Due to staffing levels it might be 2-3 days before we can complete your order. Please ask the archivist at the reference desk about the procedure to request photocopies
- Researchers may bring their own digital camera in order to take pictures of materials. This can be done in lieu of ordering photocopies. There is no charge, we just ask that you fill out the Digital Camera Usage form agreeing to fair use copyright.
- Remember the archivist at the reference desk is always available for questions and will be glad to assist you!
Reference and Access Archivist