The Cambridge History of the Graphic Novel provides the complete history of the graphic novel from its origins in the nineteenth century to its rise and startling success in the twentieth and twenty-first century.

The Second Edition of Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: History, Theme & Technique contains over 80 essays covering themes and concepts of graphic novels. It includes genres, time periods, foreign language traditions, social relevance, and craftsmanship such as penciling and inking.

Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Manga, Second Edition, provides in-depth insight for over 70 of the most popular manga graphic novels, ranging from metaseries to stand-alone books.

This book provides both students and scholars with a critical and historical introduction to the graphic novel. Jan Baetens and Hugo Frey explore this exciting form of visual and literary communication, showing readers how to situate and analyze graphic novels since their rise to prominence half a century ago.

The graphic novels included feature action, science fiction, fantasy, and superhero tales that go beyond iconic Batman and Superman story lines. The entries offer very useful plot synopses, a character list, a short biography of the writer or artist, and critical examinations of the title's themes, artistic style, and impact on other works. Each entry also includes a bibliography and recommendations for further reading.

This guide covers more than 2,400 titles, including series titles, and organizes them according to genre, subgenre, and theme-from super-heroes and adventure to crime, humor, and nonfiction.

Comics, graphic novels, sequential art have gained unprecedented legitimacy. The articles collected in this volume provide an overview of this wildly diverse, increasingly popular, and widely accepted form of literature.

Focusing on such acclaimed examples as Maus, Persepolis, and Watchmen, these essays successfully highlight the ways that graphic novelists and literary cartoonists have incorporated history, experience, and autobiography into their work.

This book gives detailed instruction in all aspects of graphic novel composition--creating characters and plots, and transforming them into dynamic illustrations that tell an interesting story. The introduction describes uses of tools of the trade, from drawing pencils, inks, and paper to word processing and Adobe Photoshop software.

Despite its short-lived popularity, the woodcut novel had an important impact on the development of comic art, particularly contemporary graphic novels with a focus on adult themes. Scholar David A. Beronä examines the history of these books and the art and influence of pioneers like Frans Masereel, Lynd Ward, Otto Nückel, William Gropper, Milt Gross, and Laurence Hyde.

Graphic novels have exploded off bookstore shelves into movies, college courses, and the New York Times book review. Comics historian and children's literature specialist Stephen Weiner explains the phenomenon in this groundbreaking book-the first history of graphic novels. The complete history of this popular format is explained, the must-reads, the milestones, the most recent developments, and what to look for in the future of this exciting medium.

Despite the growing importance of heroines across literary culture--and sales figures that demonstrate both young adult and adult females are reading about heroines in droves, particularly in graphic novels, comic books, and YA literature--few scholarly collections have examined the complex relationships between the representations of heroines and the changing societal roles for both women and men.

As there has yet to be any substantial scrutiny of the complex confluences a more sustained dialogue between disability studies and comics studies might suggest, Disability in Comic Books and Graphic Narratives aims through its broad range of approaches and focus points to explore this exciting subject in productive and provocative ways.

For the first time ever, the inspiring, infuriating, and utterly insane story of comics, graphic novels, and manga is presented in comic book form!

While there have been many strong representations of women throughout their history, the comics of today have evolved and matured, becoming a potent medium in which to explore the female experience, particularly that of girlhood and adolescence. In Girls and Their Comics: Finding a Female Voice in Comic Book Narrative, Jacqueline Danziger-Russell discusses the overall history of the comic book, paying special attention to girls comics, showing how such works relate to a female point of view.

Jean-Paul Gabilliet's Of Comics and Men: A Cultural History of American Comic Books documents the rise and development of the American comic book industry from the 1930s to the present. The book intertwines aesthetic issues and critical biographies with the concerns of production, distribution, and audience reception, making it one of the few interdisciplinary studies of the art form.

Based on the three-part PBS documentary series Superheroes, this companion volume chronicles the never-ending battle of the comic book industry, its greatest creators, and its greatest creations. Covering the effect of superheroes on American culture--in print, on film and television, and in digital media--and the effect of American culture on its superheroes.

In "Mutants and Mystics," Kripal offers a brilliantly insightful account of how comic book heroes have helped their creators and fans alike explore and express a wealth of paranormal experiences ignored by mainstream science.

In honor of the publisher's 75th anniversary, TASCHEN has produced the single most comprehensive book on DC Comics, in an XL edition even Superman might have trouble lifting. More than 2,000 images--covers and interiors, original illustrations, photographs, film stills, and collectibles--are reproduced using the latest technology to bring the story lines, the characters, and their creators to vibrant life as they've never been seen before.