Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Beyond the Nine Mountains and Nine Forests: Folk and Fairy Tales from Eastern Europe, Summer 2016 @ Archives & Special Collections: The Exhibit

Introduction to Beyond the Nine Mountains and Nine Forests - Folk and Fairy Tales from Eastern Europe: Fairy and folk tales are used across the world to entertain, impart lessons, and maintain cultural heritage. Alongside these lush stories, artists create magnificent illustrations to bring the reader into these mystical worlds. In {Title}, books and stories from across time come together to examine the connections and histories of these tales that have been an integral part of Eastern European life for centuries. Celebrating Europe Day 2016, we invite you to enter the enchanted forests of Russia, Hungary, the Czech Republic and more. Folk and fairy tales are used across the world to entertain, impart lessons, and maintain cultural heritage. Artists create magnificent illustrations to bring the reader into these mystical worlds. Children’s books from across time come together to examine the connections and histories of these tales that have been an integral part of Eastern European life for centuries.  The books featured in this exhibit are from the Special Collection’s Nesbitt Children’s Book Collection and The Fadiman Collection, as well as the ULS general collection.  Special thanks to Caris Windhausen, History of Art and Architecture Exhibit Design and Installation Intern, for her assistance in planning and execution.

Contact Us

Archives & Special Collections

A&SC at Hillman Library

3960 Forbes Avenue

Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Phone: 412-648-8190

Email:
ULS-Archives&SpecialCollections@pitt.edu

Hours:
M-F: 9:00am-4:45pm
 

 

 

Attribution

This guide was created by HAA Exhibit Design and Installation Intern, Caris Windhausen in the Spring of 2016.

The page "Visiting Special Collections" was writen by Kiana Gonzalez, 2015-2016 MLIS Diversity Intern.