Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
The Theatricality of Greek Tragedy by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2002
Ancient Greek tragedy has been an inspiration to Western culture, but the way it was first performed has long remained in question. In "The Theatricality of Greek Tragedy," Graham Ley provides an illuminating discussion of key issues relating to the use of the playing space and the nature of the chorus, offering a distinctive impression of the performance of Greek tragedy in the fifth century BCE.a Drawing on evidence from the surviving texts of tragedies by Aeschylus, Sophocles, and Euripides, Ley explains how scenes with actors were played in the open ground of the orchestra, often considered as exclusively the dancing place of the chorus. In reviewing what is known of the music and dance of Greek antiquity, Ley goes on to show that in the original productions the experience of the chorusOCoexpressed in song and dance and in interaction with the charactersOCoremained a vital characteristic in the performance of tragedy. Combining detailed analysis with broader reflections about the nature of ancient Greek tragedy as an art form, this volumeOCosupplemented with a series of illustrative drawings and diagramsOCowill be a necessary addition to the bookshelf of anyone interested in literature, theater, or classical studies. "
Digital Theatre Plus - Greek Theatre
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.
Users must have the latest version of Google Chrome to access.
Oedipus directed by Steven Berkoff
Steven Berkoff brings Sophocles’ tragedy to life in this vivid retelling of the condemned King and his battle with destiny. Captured live at the Nottingham Playhouse, this dynamic adaptation conveys Oedipus' downfall through carefully constructed movements, larger-than-life expressions and a compelling ensemble performance.
Drawing on inspiration from Greek tragedy and Berkoff’s training with Jacques Lecoq, the chorus drive the narrative of Oedipus’ emotional and physical journey through mime, tableaux and masks. The minimalist set, influenced by both Renaissance and modern art, provides a surreal backdrop to the building tension as Oedipus discovers the disturbing truth about his family.
Theatre in Video - Greek Theatre
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.