Helpful Library Resources - France Since 1789 - Bradford Campus

Locating Periodical Articles & Primary Sources

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
Adam Matthew Explorer This link opens in a new window
Collections spanning the social sciences and humanities, developed in collaboration with leading libraries and archives. Includes unique primary source content with a wealth of additional features to enhance engagement.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
On completion this unique digital archive will consist of almost 500 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s.
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2012 This link opens in a new window
The Economist is a popular world news magazine. It features a range of articles about current events, politics, culture, and business. The writing often takes an editorial tone and is often witty. The entire run of the magazine, except for the most recent 5 years, is included here.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Empire Online includes approximately 60,000 images of original manuscripts and printed materials covering the period 1492-1962. Empire Online also provides biographies of the individuals mentioned in the source material, a detailed chronology of the period covered, and both keyword and controlled vocabulary searching.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies in Asia and the Pacific: From Colonialism to Japanese Mandates, 1910-1929 This link opens in a new window
This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the German colonial governments and later the Japanese mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) This link opens in a new window
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) is a collection of English-language transcriptions of media content from around the world collected by the United States' intelligence community between 1941-1996. This collection provides an international perspective on world events.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
21 primary source collections are cross-searchable, including NCCO, ECCO, 19th century British and U.S. newspapers, the Economist, Daily Mail, Illustrated London, Financial Times and the (London) Times archives.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts is your complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.
Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
The Making of the Modern World looks at history through the lens of wealth and trade with a focus on economics in the widest sense, including political science, history, philosophy, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on archival collections of primary sources providing full-text, fully searchable content. Collection is in both Western and non-Western languages.
Past Masters (Political Theory, Philosophy, Classics) This link opens in a new window
Past Masters encompasses the history of political thought and theory, classics, and philosophy in full-text format. It includes such resources as the Works of Charles Darwin, the complete works of Plato and Thomas Aquinas, Kant: Gesammelte Schriften, and political theory from Machiavelli to Mill.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery This link opens in a new window
A digital archive in four parts devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the late 15th through the early 20th century.

Locating Cambridge UP eBooks

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Includes over 300 volumes published since 1960 covering a range of time periods, topics, and regions. Countries covered include the United States, United Kingdom, China, Egypt, Japan, Iran, Russia, Turkey, South Africa, and India; regions and continents include Scandinavia, Asia, Africa, Latin America, and the Pacific Islands.

Locating Books Using PittCat

PittCat
Our online catalog

Ebooks @ Pitt

The University of Pittsburgh has an extensive collection of ebooks made available through our databases. These collections cover a variety of disciplines including business, economics, technology, engineering, humanities, arts, and science. This guide has been created to assist students in searching for, accessing, and downloading digital content through the library's homepage.

What is an ebook?

An electronic book (also e-book, ebook, eBook, digital book) is a book made available in digital form and designed to be read using special e-book software, some of which preserve the book’s original layout and design. Ebooks can be read on a variety of PCs (desktops, notebooks, tablets, and handhelds), PDAs, and dedicated e-book readers using specially designed e-book software. (Source: CredoReference)

How do I access ebooks at Pitt?

Our ebook collections are available for free to Pitt students, faculty, and staff 24/7 through the library's homepage and online catalog PittCat. Ebook collections at Pitt and their descriptions can also be accessed from the Major Ebook Collections page in this LibGuide. You can also access the library's electronic reference book collection in the eReference page.

Using a wireless device or e-reader?

Visit the Devices/Device Help page for information on compatible portable devices.

Instruction Services Librarian

Catherine Baldwin

Email Me

Contact:

114 Hanley Library
University of Pittsburgh at Bradford,
300 Campus Drive
Bradford, PA 16701

(814) 362-7613

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

France Since 1789 - Bradford Campus: Helpful Library Resources

France Since 1789

Locating Periodical Articles & Primary Sources

Locating Cambridge UP eBooks

Locating Books Using PittCat

Ebooks @ Pitt

Instruction Services Librarian