This is the "Home" page of the "A Guide to Primary Sources at the Archives Service Center" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A Guide to Primary Sources at the Archives Service Center   Tags: archives, archives service center, history, oakland, primary sources, research  

Designed to assist researchers who are using the archival collections at the Archives Service Center.
Last Updated: Aug 6, 2013 URL: http://pitt.libguides.com/usingthearchives Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Useful Links

  • Archives Service Center
    Information regarding the Archives Service Center (ASC) located at 7500 Thomas Boulevard, which is about 4 miles from Oakland.
  • Search Finding Aids
    This link will take you to search the archives collections finding aids to discover what materials are at the ASC.
 

Evaluate This Guide

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Welcome!

 (North Point Breeze and Wilkinsburg, 1939. This how the Archives Service Center's neighborhood once looked. G. M Hopkins, Volume 2, 1939.)

This guide will assist you in choosing an archival collection to provide primary source research for the seminar paper. It will explain what is a primary source and what types of primary sources are at the Archives Service Center. This guide will also show you how to search the archives for collections relevant to your chosen topic and how to read a collection finding aid. There is also information on visiting the Archives Service Center such as our hours, Hillman shuttle schedule, policies for use of collections, and a suggested citation style for citing archival sources.

Reference and Access Archivist

Profile Image
David R. Grinnell
Logo - FacebookLogo - LinkedIn
Contact Info
Archives Service Center
7500 Thomas Boulevard
412-648-3243
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip