Guides: Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies Databases: Home

Related Guides & Resources

ADMPS 2359: Gender, Education, and Development - Pittsburgh Campus
by Robin Kear Last Updated Feb 12, 2025 152 views this year
Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies Program - Pittsburgh Campus
by Robin Kear Last Updated Mar 24, 2025 1100 views this year
GSWS 0500: Intro to Feminist Theory - Pittsburgh Campus
by Robin Kear Last Updated Feb 12, 2025 223 views this year
Indigenous and Native Peoples of Turtle Island (North America) - Bradford Campus
by Jenelle Johnson Last Updated Apr 10, 2025 583 views this year
LGBTQ Digital Archives in the Classroom @ Pitt
by Robin Kear Last Updated Sep 10, 2021 612 views this year
LGBTQIA+ Resources @ Pitt
by Robin Kear Last Updated Feb 12, 2025 212 views this year
Queer Horror @ Pitt
by Robin Kear Last Updated Apr 28, 2021 381 views this year
The Underground Press @ Archives & Special Collections
by Megan Massanelli Last Updated Feb 21, 2025 709 views this year
Women's Suffrage
by Miriam Meislik Last Updated Jun 26, 2024 437 views this year

At a Regional Campus?

Contact your regional library for help.

Bradford Campus
Kimberly Bailey, hanold@pitt.edu
Greensburg Campus
Kelly Safin, kab309@pitt.edu
Johnstown Campus
David Kupas, dmk24@pitt.edu
Titusville Campus
Marc Ross, marcross@pitt.edu

Specialized Gender Databases

GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch contains archival material, in some cases as far back as the 1970's with additional archival material continually added.
Women's Studies International
Women's Resources International is a composite of nine contributing databases covering women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused scholarship from throughout the world.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts
SWGA is an international abstracting database covering key areas of women’s and gender studies.

Feminist Periodicals
A current listing of Table of Contents (TOC) of over 150 magazines and journals, from academic journals to special interest periodicals on women of color, art, law, health care, lesbian issues, and women around the world. Quarterly basis. Browse the listing and then look for the full-text.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940
Consists of 54 individual collections and over 1.5 million pages. The bulk of documents are between 1950 to 1990 with all coverage from 1940 to 2014. Four collections are sourced from the Lesbian Herstory Archives; two are sourced from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Historical Society. Others are sourced from the New York Public Library; the London School of Economics; and from the National Institutes of Health.

Women's Interest Magazines

Consumer magazines aimed at a female readership are recognized as critical primary sources through which to interpret multiple aspects of 19th and 20th-century history and culture. There are often assignments associated with these resources.

Women’s Magazine Archive
A searchable archive of leading women’s interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Includes Better Homes and Gardens, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Redbook, Seventeen, Woman's Day, and more.
Vogue Archive
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included.
Harper's Bazaar Archive
Includes the complete run of U.S. Harper’s Bazaar, from 1867 to the present, fully indexed and searchable in a full color collection.
Picture Post Historical Archive 1938-1957 Contains the entire run on the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957. The coverage in Picture Post provides the key to our understanding of the pre-television era with a focus on popular entertainment and the rise of youth culture from the humorous and light-hearted snapshots of daily life to the serious and history defining moments of domestic and international affairs.
Life Magazine Archive
Search or browse the full-text PDF versions of Life Magazine from 1936 to 2000.

Gender & Women's Studies Online Collections

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
WSM brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women’s reform activities and examines perspectives on women’s social movements from Colonial times to the present.
Defining Gender
Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
Black Women in America
In nearly 600 entries, Black Women in America celebrates the remarkable achievements of black women throughout history, highlights their ongoing contributions in America today, and represents the new research the first edition helped to generate, provided coverage for an underrepresented field in Women’s Studies. The Encyclopedia provides an overview of black women’s contributions throughout history and includes entries on contemporary women of note.
North American Women's Drama
Currently contains 200+ plays by 67 playwrights but, when complete, will contain more than 1,500 plays, of which some 20% have never been published before. Includes some playbills, production information, and a few facts about specific theatres and companies.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
When complete this collection will include approximately 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. Drawn from more than 1,000 sources the collection represents all age groups, ethnicities, regions and the famous and the not so famous.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. The time period covered is 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. with Russia extending to 1613. Subject coverage for gender and sexuality means that articles on masculinity and male homosexuality are included.
Black Women Writers
Black Women Writers will contain approximately 100,000 pages of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry by women from North America, Africa and the Caribbean. It will also present essays by scholars and feminists about the history of feminism and genre studies in these regions.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Women in World History contains over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.

Related Databases

JSTOR
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.
Project MUSE
Access to over 380 humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
SocINDEX
SocINDEX is a comprehensive sociology database featuring citations with subject headings from a sociology specific thesaurus. It contains informative abstracts for more than 590 core journals dating back to 1985.
Social Work Abstracts
The Social Work Abstracts database is an index to articles and documents covering all aspects of social work and related fields. The database provides exceptional coverage of more than 450 journals in all areas of the profession, including theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems.
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Each volume offers abstracts and citations for some 8,000 articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Ethnic NewsWatch contains nearly 500,000 complete articles dating back to 1990 from 200 publications. English and Spanish language search options are available.
Humanities International Index
Humanities International Index provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles with coverage dating as far back as 1925. HII contains more than 1.6 million records and includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works.

Liaison Librarian

Robin Kear

Email Me

Contact:

Schedule an Appointment

412-648-7728

Subjects: English (Comp Literature & Writing), Film and Media Studies, Gender, Sexuality, & Women's Studies

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies Databases: Home