Banner Image

University Archives @ Pitt: Home

Guide to collections documenting the history of the University of Pittsburgh

What is the University Archives?

The University Archives, a department of the Archives Service Center within the University Library System, collects, preserves and makes accessible the papers, records, photographs and media that document the history and mission of the University of Pittsburgh. Pitt faculty and departments are encouraged to deposit relevant materials in the archives for permanent retention.

In this guide:

  • Historical Records tab describes what kind of historical records the University Archives collects and holds
  • People tab shows what kinds of information that we maintain on Pitt's faculty, staff, students and visitors
  • Publications tab lists some of the books and journals that University has issued over its history.

Some Resources from the University Archives

   thumb            thumb            Image found in the Yearbook Collection

The University Archives holds the records of the Chancellors from William Jacob Holland (1891-1901) to Edward H. Litchfield (1956-1965).  There are  also a few items for some of the earlier executives.  Left: image Chancellors Rufus H. Fitzgerald and John G. Bowman, the 11th and 10th Chancellors of the University of Pittsburgh.

The University Archives contains LOTS of images of various campus buildings. Center image: The Cathedral of Learning and Litchfield Towers.

The University Archives holds a full set of The Owl and Panther Prints yearbooks.  The yearbooks, as well as many photographs and historic publications, are scanned and online on our Documenting Pitt website. Right image: Detail from the cover of the 1933 Owl Yearboook.  

Interested in Contributing to the University Archives?

If you are a faculty or staff member at the University of Pittsburgh and believe the material in your office documents the administrative, academic, or social history of the University, then you may want to consider donating your material. Please contact us if you'd like to talk to us about your material.

Subject Guide

Marianne Kasica
Contact:
412 648-3148

marianne@pitt.edu