African American HeritageGerman HeritageItalian HeritageJewish HeritagePolish HeritageOther Ethnicities
This is the "Family History Resources" page of the "Genealogical and Family History Resources @ Pitt" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Genealogical and Family History Resources @ Pitt   Tags: genealogy, library resources, pittsburgh  

This guide provides an overview of genealogical and other family history resources available at the Archives Service Center and Hillman Library.
Last Updated: Aug 15, 2013 URL: http://pitt.libguides.com/Genealogy Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Family History Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started With Family History Research

Starting to research your family history can be a daunting task. After all, we live in a huge country with a long history of different cultures, backgrounds, and ethnic affiliations. Industrial Pittsburgh was a cultural melting pot of different races and nationalities, which makes deciding where to start looking for information fairly overwhelming. Fortunately, the city is also full of excellent genealogical resources, and the University of Pittsburgh Library System is a wonderful place to start.

This guide has been developed to showcase some of the resources that the Pitt Library System has to offer. Most of the material that will be helpful for family history research is held at the Archives Service Center, located in the Point Breeze neighborhood of Pittsburgh. Some material is also at Hillman Library, mainly on the ground floor in the Microform Department.

One very important resource you will certainly want to explore is our Historic Pittsburgh site. This site has collections from the Archives Service Center, the Carnegie Museum of Art, the Heinz History Center, and numerous other universities, historical societies, and local history organizations throughout the Pittsburgh region. Here you'll find city directories, historic maps of Pittsburgh neighborhoods, old photographs, and much more. It's a wonderful place to start any genealogical project.

We've designed this guide both for people who are just starting to dip their toes in the genealogical community, as well as seasoned researchers who might be interested to discover some new resources. Feel free to contact us if you have any questions or want to arrange to see some of our on-site collections. Good luck with your research!

City Directories

The Pittsburgh city directories contain a vast amount of helpful information, including lists of inhabitants, their occupation or business location, and residential address. The directories also include advertisements, business listings, locations of schools, churches, synagogues and benevolent organizations, and street directories.

125 of the directories for Pittsburgh, Allegheny City, and Homestead have been digitized and are available online through Historic Pittsburgh. These searchable directories cover 1815-1945. Microfilm copies of the directories are also available in the Hillman Library Microform Department.

More modern directories, up to the present day, can be found in the Pennsylvania Department of the Carnegie Public Library, and at the Heinz History Center. Please contact these institutions for more information.

 

Additional Resources

If you're looking for information on family members in Westmoreland County, the Greensburg regional campus has a wonderful guide on the history of the area, including information for family history researchers.

You may want to consult the Passenger and Immigration Lists Index, which can be found on the ground floor of Hillman Library. This is a guide to published arrival records of passengers who came to the U.S. and Canada in the 17th-19th centuries; the index gives the page number of the actual publication in which the person is cited.

You also may want to check out another guide on Pittsburgh and Regional newspapers held at Hillman Library.

Finally, you may find it helpful to peruse the Resources on the Ethnic and the Immigrant in the Pittsburgh Area guide, which is available both in Hillman and at the Archives Service Center. This is a compilation of resources available for the study of the ethnic immigrant experience in the Pittsburgh area, and which are available in various Pittsburgh institutions, agencies, and organizations. It also includes resources available from places other than Pittsburgh, such as the Genealogical Society in Salt Lake City, and the Library of Congress.

Archives Service Center

Profile Image
ULS Archives
Contact Info
7500 Thomas Boulevard
Pittsburgh, PA 15208
phone: 412-648-3232
fax 412-648-2170
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip