Engineering Research - Intro to Environmental Engineering - Johnstown Campus

Begin your research at library.pitt.edu/johnstown to find books, articles, databases, research guides, and other useful information necessary to conduct your research.

PittCat

PittCat is the main searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library System (ULS), including articles, books, ebooks, journal articles, ejournals, audio and video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.

PittCat
Access PittCat directly or use the ULS homepage.

Searching Techniques

Phrase Searching - PittCat allows for phrase searching with the use of “ “. For example, the search "climate change" will find items with the phrase climate change in them.

Wildcard and Truncation – You can use wildcards (* and ?) symbols to search PittCat.

Advanced Searching - Check the Advanced Search for more tips and techniques to enhance your search, including Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT). Note: Boolean Operators must be entered in all uppercase/capital letters.

Library Databases for Engineering

Engineering Research Databases
All engineering research databases along with their descriptions, available through the University of Pittsburgh Library System (ULS).

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering is an award-winning engineering reference and teaching platform that delivers world-renowned, interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.
American Society for Civil Engineers (ASCE)- Electronic Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to this publisher's collection of journals.
Engineering Case Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Focuses on engineering successes and failures and can be used for projects, papers, and discussions that focus on ethics. At completion, the collection will contain 250 hours and 50,000 pages of quality documentaries, accident reports, experiments, visualizations, case studies, lectures and interviews from leading engineering institutions around the world.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology.
IEEEXplore This link opens in a new window
Access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
Knovel Engineering and Scientific Online References This link opens in a new window
Database of the fulltext of some of the leading engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings. Provides tabular and graphical data, including facts, figures, formulas and definitions.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Intro to Environmental Engineering - Johnstown Campus

Starting out? Try Credo.

Other Research Databases

Finding Full-Text with Google Scholar

PittCat

Searching Techniques

Library Databases for Engineering