This handsome book explores in depth a group of stunning painted and gilded furniture designed by the architect Benjamin Henry Latrobe (1764-1820), best known for originating the plans for the United States Capitol. The furniture was made in Philadelphia for one of the city's finest houses--the home of William and Mary Wilcocks Waln, which Latrobe also designed.
The creation of an American furniture style at a crossroads of transatlantic trade & American Furniture, 1650-1840: Highlights from the Philadelphia Museum of Art is the first publication dedicated to one of the finest collections of its type in the country.
21 primary source collections are cross-searchable, including NCCO, ECCO, 19th century British and U.S. newspapers, the Economist, Daily Mail, Illustrated London, Financial Times and the (London) Times archives.
You can find advertisements and costs of items in their time.
When complete this collection will include approximately 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. Drawn from more than 1,000 sources the collection represents all age groups, ethnicities, regions and the famous and the not so famous.
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Each volume offers abstracts and citations for some 8,000 articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences.
Use their online catalog to determine if there are books about certain subjects. For example, type Redware Pottery to view books written about this subject. From there, you can copy the title into PittCat to see if we have them in our collection.