Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Technology Innovation, Adoption, & Diffusion - Oakland Campus

This guide will provide helpful resources and strategies to use when working on the TIAD Final Project for Dr. Kemerer's BMIS 2679 course

Why Market Research?

You might find it helpful to learn more about the technologies market or potential market.

The following boxes provide some suggestions on where to start.

Market Reports

Resources Available

The ULS has access to a market report database called BCC Research! This database provides detailed market reports from 20 categories, including semiconductors, information technology, healthcare, etc.

However, we cannot typically get access to other market research reports found on sites like MarketResearch.com, GrandViewResearch.com, or Forrester.com as they tend to cost thousands of dollars each.

However, there are some alternatives. The following databases are typically the best places to check:

Some tips

When doing market research, it is typically helpful to know the primary code(s), such as NAICS and SIC codes, associated with that market. You can then search in all of the above databases with that code for targeted results.

Finally, advanced Google searching can also be beneficial, particularly focusing on trade or industry associations, government reports and websites, and white papers from companies or think tanks.

If you have additional questions, please use Ask Us.

Demographics

view of the 2000 US census results on peoples ancestry, by county. Demographics or demographic data are the characteristics of a human population as used in government, marketing or opinion research, or the demographic profiles used in such research.

Commonly used demographics include sex, race, age, income, disabilities, mobility (in terms of travel time to work or number of vehicles available), educational attainment, home ownership, employment status, and even location.

Distributions of values within a demographic variable, and across households, are both of interest, as well as trends over time.

Image by the U.S. Census Bureau, on Wikimedia Commons.

The below websites and databases are great starting points for basic U.S. demographic data.

Pitt Databases

Free Websites

The following websites and databases contain helpful global demographic information.

Pitt Databases

Free Websites

The following websites will provide helpful demographic information for Pittsburgh. Be sure to check whether the source is providing information on the city of Pittsburgh or the Pittsburgh metro area.

Consumers and Psychographics

You can think of demographics as providing information about who your consumers are, and psychographics providing the why they purchase things.

There are many resources available to help you learn about consumers and their behaviors, attitudes, and opinions.

Image by ProjectManhattan, on Wikimedia Commons, CC0.

The following websites will help you find and understand consumer behavior.

The following resources will link help you find surveys and polls that cover consumer behavior and attitudes.

Free Websites

The following resources provide data on consumer expenditure or spending.

Pitt Databases:

Free Websites:

Pitt Books/Ebooks:

Understanding the basic economic conditions can help understand and project consumer spending habits. Use the following websites.

Market Share Data

Market share is the percentage of sales (by value or volume) that a brand or company has for a specific product or category.

Note: Market share calculations can range from specific products (i.e. Vanilla flavored ready to drink iced coffee) to extremely broad industries (i.e. food and beverage). Be sure you are aware of which industry segment(s) a report includes.

IBIS World Market share graph for the automobile industry

Above is an image from IBIS World (an industry database) that shows the market share of the Car and Automobile Manufacturing Industry report.

Often, when looking up market information in search engines like Google, you will find all sorts of reports. However, you'll also find that most of the reports cost hundreds-thousands of dollars to access. We typically do not have access to these types of reports at Pitt, but it can be helpful to read the table of contents or preview they provide to help steer you in the right direction for additional information.