Skip to main content

Course & Subject Guides

Psychology of Gender - Oakland Campus

A guide for students in Dr. Melinda Ciccocioppo's class PSY 0184. Library resources and specialists for GSWS, Psychology, and Archives & Special Collections are available for consultation assistance for coursework.

Visiting Special Collections--policies and procedures

Archives & Special Collections welcomes everyone!  Our focus is quality service to researchers, the security and preservation of the materials, as well as courtesy to other researchers and compliance with University and library regulations. To ensure proper care of our unique materials, please observe the following safeguards in the Reading Room:

  • Prospective users of rare books or manuscript collections must complete a registration form on your first visit
  • Special Collections allows the use of loose sheets of note paper, note cards,or a laptop computer. You will be requested to place any items not permitted in the Reading Room in the key operated storage lockers, such as brief cases, backpacks, tote bags, purses, and laptop bags.
  • The use of pens is prohibited, but we will be more than happy to supply you with a pencil.
  • As a courtesy to other researchers, we ask that all cell phones be set to silent/vibrate.
  • Scanning equipment may not be used in the reading room, although digital cameras are permitted with permission on a case-by-case basis. You will be asked to complete and submit a digital camera log.
  • Materials will not be retrieved within 30 minutes of closing. All materials must be returned 15 minutes before closing.  Upon request, materials may be held on reserve in the Reading Room.

Children's Literature and Child-related Primary Sources

The ULS holds an array of resources relating to children, childhood, and gender.  Resources available to you include:

Gender and Sexuality Related Primary Sources

At Archives & Special Collections you can find a trove of underground and alternative press publications related to gender, sexuality, and women's studies:

The Underground Press at Special Collections

Title page for the book X: A Fabulous Child's Story
Image of cover of the book Large Fears
Image of spines of 19th century books on women's health and sexuality

Selections from 19th and early 20th century women's health and sexuality

covers of three issues of the periodical Transvestia
Front cover of the romance comic book Young Love
An array of issues of girls magazines
Cover if the etiquette book Good Morals and Gentle Manners
cover of the etiqutte book Ugly Girl Papers