Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Use the databases below to search for journal articles, conference proceedings, technical papers, etc. Databases are listed in order from more general to more specific. For help using any of these databases, contact your liaison librarian, Ashley Sowa.
Academic Search Premier
General purpose. Academic Search Premier contains articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, and more in most academic areas of study.
Scopus contains journal articles, books, conference papers, and patents from scientific, technical and medical fields.
Web of Science
Web of Science contains full-text articles, reviews, conference proceedings, and technical papers from disciplines across the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
ProceedingsFirst offers tables of contents from worldwide conferences, professional meetings and symposia; lists papers presented at those meetings; and provides an overview of the activities at such meetings.
arXiv s a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.
Browse journals by the top publishers in physics. If you find a citation that does not link to full-text, bring it to the Engineering Library or email your liaison librarian, Ashley Sowa. We'll help you track down the article!
American Institute of Physics (AIP) Publications
The American Institute of Physics (AIP) is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit membership corporation created for the purpose of promoting the advancement and diffusion of the knowledge of physics and its application to human welfare.
Annual Reviews publications review and synthesize the top articles in a particular scientific field each year. Look in the Physical Sciences column to see titles related to physics & astronomy.
Below are some science magazines and scholarly journals with a focus on or regular coverage of physics topics.
Published by the American Institute of Physics. Peer reviewed articles of interest to both professional physicists and those with a general interest in physics. Full-text from 1948-present.
Presents articles of interest to scientists and others involved with the latest developments in science. Full-text from 1975-present.
Nature Physics publishes papers of the highest quality and significance in all areas of physics, pure and applied. The journal content reflects core physics disciplines, but is also open to a broad range of topics whose central theme falls within the bounds of physics.
Science seeks to publish those papers that are most influential in their fields or across fields and that will significantly advance scientific understanding.
Finding Full-Text with Google Scholar:
Do you use Google Scholar? Watch the video below to learn how to set up Library Links through Google Scholar to get access to full-text content.
Particle & Condensed Matter Physics
These resources provide free access to documents in physics, including preprints, articles, white papers, etc
SCOAP3, the Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics, has developed an innovative model to achieve “Gold” Open Access to leading high-quality, peer-reviewed journals in High-Energy Physics (HEP).
Provides more than 500,000 high-energy physics related articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses, comprehensively indexed since 1974. Originally SPIRES.
CERN Document Server
A source for particle physics and related areas, this site includes the bibliographic records and full-text of preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs, and much more.
A main database for finding U.S. Department of Energy technical reports.
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
The NTRS is a valuable resource for researchers, students, educators, and the public to access NASA's current and historical technical literature and engineering results.
Research on peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology; includes grey literature.
These resources provide data, measurements, and tools.
Conversion of Units
An online conversion calculator from the Institute of Chemistry at the Freie Universität Berlin.
NIST Physical Reference Data
A series of online databases hosted by NIST containing physical constants, spectroscopy data, X-ray and gamma-ray data, radiation dosimetry data, and other physics data.
NIST Digital Library of Mathematical Functions
A successor to the classic Handbook of Mathematical Functions edited by Abramowitz and Stegun.
The Durham High Energy Physics Database (HEPData) has been built up over the past four decades as a unique open-access repository for scattering data from experimental particle physics. It currently comprises the data points from plots and tables related to several thousand publications including those from the Large Hadron Collider (LHC).
Particle Data Group: Review of Particle Physics
Annual description of properties of established and hypothetical particles, as well as related reviews and tools.
NIST Handbook of Basic Atomic Spectroscopic Data
This handbook is designed to provide a selection of the most important and frequently used atomic spectroscopic data in an easily accessible format.
National Nuclear Data Center
The National Nuclear Data Center (NNDC) collects, evaluates, and disseminates nuclear physics data for basic nuclear research and for applied nuclear technologies.
High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center
The High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center (HEASARC) is the primary archive for NASA's (and other space agencies') missions studying electromagnetic radiation from extremely energetic cosmic phenomena ranging from black holes to the Big Bang.
Societies and laboratories in physics and related fields.
Additional resources of interest for studying physics.
Eric Weisstein's World of Physics
Eric Weisstein's World of Science is written and maintained by the author as a public service for scientific knowledge and education. Although it is often difficult to find explanations for technical subjects that are both clear and accessible, this web site bridges the gap by placing an interlinked framework of mathematical exposition and illustrative examples at the fingertips of every internet user.
Physics.org is brought to you by the Physics in Society team at the Institute of Physics. Our aim is to inspire people of all ages about physics. Let us be your guide and show you the best physics places on the web.
The Feynman Lectures on Physics
An online edition of the legendary and fundamental Feynman Lectures, from Caltech.
The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein
Princeton University Press presents The Digital Einstein Papers, an open-access site for The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein, the ongoing publication of Einstein's massive written legacy comprising more than 30,000 unique documents.
Astrophysics & Cosmology
These resources provide data and bibliographic information for astrophysics and cosmology.
Societies and laboratories in astronomy and related fields.
Additional resources of interest for studying astronomy.
Eric Weisstein's World of Astronomy
A free online resource covering many topics in astronomy, maintained by Wolfram Research.
The Astronomical Almanac
Contains precise ephemerides of the Sun, Moon, planets, and satellites, data for eclipses and other astronomical phenomena for a given year.
Extrasolar Planets Encyclopaedia
Authoritative information on candidate extrasolar planets, current search programs, meetings, theory, extrasolar life, etc. Includes links to articles.
The goal of AstroBetter is to provide information and tips about streamlining all the things we need to do Astronomy well.
Ask an Astronomer
From University of Berkeley- Ever wondered why Saturn has rings? Why planet visibility varies? What's a typical day like in the life of your average Astronomy student? Just Ask an Astronomer! Includes a section on Careers in Astronomy.