Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Find Open Access Content
If you've run into a paywall and can't access the article you need, there are many resources available to you.
Try our Search Bar below, powered by the Open Access Button. This tool also provides a browser extension for Chrome and a web interface. If the Button can't find your article freely available, it will send a request to the author on your behalf.
For quick access to open access versions of paywalled articles, try the Unpaywall browser extension for Chrome. Unpaywall alerts you when there is a freely available version of the article available from repositories, preprint archives, or scholarly websites.
CORE Repository Search
CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. In this way CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to research for all.
Free Access to US Federally Funded Research through CHORUS
Search the repositories of CHORUS, a collection of repositories for research that has been funded by the US Federal Agencies.
Bielefield Academic Search Engine (BASE) - Search content from European repositories
This resource searches repositories, and may be particularly good for content from European institutions.
Elsevier's Postdoc Free Access Program
If you are a postdoc, recent PhD graduate, or between academic jobs, the Free Access program from Elsevier may help you get temporary access to some content you need. To be eligible, you must complete a form verifying your credentials, be unemployed for less than 1 year or have a project ending within the next 6 months, and have received your PhD in the past 5 years.
Elsevier Journalist Access Program
If you are a journalist, you may qualify for Elsevier's program to provide free access to Science Direct for journalists.
OA Resources for Everyone
Framing the Issue: Open Access
From the Association of Research Libraries (ARL), this resource guide aims to foster and inform discussions about Open Access.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
Offering many resources on the benefits of Open Access to thesis, dissertations, and other scholarship. Also offers an online catalog for searching international electronic theses and dissertations.
Open Access Week
An international celebration of the Open Access movement and OA initiatives, held annually during the third full week of October
Open Access Week @ Pitt
From Pitt's Open Access website, this page provides a list of past and current programs sponsored by Pitt during its annual commemoration of Open Access Week, an international event that promotes efforts in support of open access to scholarship
The Right to Research Coalition
Resources, ideas, statements, and other ways to take action to support OA in higher education
Sherpa/RoMEO: Publisher copyright & self-archiving policies
Developed at the University of Nottingham in the UK, Sherpa/RoMEO lets you search by journal name or publisher to find their copyright and self-archiving policies, helping you determine whether you can deposit your work in an Open Access repository or on your own website.
A Very Brief Introduction to Open Access
By Peter Suber, Director of the Harvard Office for Scholarly Communication and Research Professor of Philosophy, Earlham College
OA Resources for Scholars
D-Scribe Digital Collections: Library publishing services
Learn more about the University Library System's D-Scribe Digital Collections and how to get started in creating a journal, an online archive, and more
Open Access Author Fee Fund
The University Library System will provide funds for the payment of article processing fees for articles authored or coauthored by the faculty, staff, postdoctoral associates, and students served by the ULS and the Barco Law Library who publish in eligible open-access journals and for which no alternative funding is available.
Statements by Learned Societies and Professional Associations
From the Open Access Directory, Simmons College. Includes statements made for and against Open Access to Scholarship.
ULS E-Journal Publishing
The University Library System publishes a growing number of scholarly research journals in a variety of disciplines
What Faculty Can Do to Support Open Access
A handout created by Open Access Week, this helps explain the benefits of OA and how faculty members can support OA efforts individually and collectively
OAPEN Open Access Books Toolkit
The OAPEN Open Access Books Toolkit covers specific topics related to open access books. Each article offers a quick and brief introduction to a particular aspect of open access book publishing. The toolkit also serves as a signposting tool: articles include a list of sources referenced, further reading and links to definitions of key terms.
OA Resources for Students