Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Related Guides & Resources
At a Regional Campus?
Contact your regional library for help.
These databases contain in-depth articles and information on this subject.
A collection of streaming audio versions of music that reflects the history of the United States.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
This online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains more than 410,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Since 1992, newly published individual monographs are no longer being added to the database, and users seeking monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases.
Books in Print (Global)
Global Books in Print contains bibliographic information from the top six English language book databases for books currently in print. Includes English language titles in print from the US, the UK, Europe, Australia, New Zealand, Africa, Asia and the Oceanic states.
Classical Music Library
A multi-label database centered around over 50,000 Classical music recordings, with a reference section yielding biographies and images of compsers, themed playlists, a glossary of musical terms, and a historical guide.
Contemporary World Music
A collection of musical recordings representing many cultures around the world, complete with liner notes.
DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music)
A collection of 9,800 American music recordings in several genres, featuring informative essays that give background information about the music.
Eighteenth-Century Journals, c.1685-1815
It brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
An archival research resource containing primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Titles include Billboard, Musician, Spin, Variety, and more.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online brings together over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings from around the world, alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers’ metadata, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context.
Ethnographic Video Online
A visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture in streaming video, including footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures.
An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Jazz Music Library
A collection of jazz music sound files including tracks from some prominent groups and artists.
A classical music digital channel, offering a catalogue of 1,400 programmes in video-on-demand, as well as 100 live concerts each year.
Met Opera on Demand
Access to more than 600 full-length Met performances (The Metropolitan Opera of New York City).
A suite of databases offering full length streaming recordings of music in a variety of genres.
Music Periodicals Database
ProQuest's Music Periodicals Database draws its current content from more than 375 international music periodicals from over 20 countries, and also indexes feature music articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post.
National Newspaper Index
A database for finding information on Current Events, Lifestyle, Biographies, Sports, Economics, Consumer Products, World Affairs, Public Health, Business Trends, Entertainment and Travel.
Opera in Video
Contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
Oxford History of Western Music
A database providing text, images and musical examples related to the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin.
Oxford Music Online
Provides information about musicians, specific works, and musical styles. The access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Draws its current content from more than 130 international performing arts periodicals from 9 countries, and also indexes feature performing arts articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
A database containing bibliographic records and abstracts for various types of music literature, including articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, Festschriften, films, videos, concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals.
RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Full Text
A collection of primary source material and periodicals for the study of music and musical life from 1760 to 1966.
Over 35,000 classic articles on artists from Aaliyah to ZZ Top,
by music writers of the last 50 years.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound
Smithsonian Global Sound lets users find and listen to musical recordings in a diverse range of styles from around the world. Users can create playlists and link to an online store of the materials. Educators have options to create tests and further organize material for use in coursework.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
The WorldCat database is the OCLC Online Union Catalog. It contains more than 450 million records in 484 languages describing items owned by our libraries or 10,000 other libraries around the world.