Know your terms! Does what you're searching for have multiple names? Was it called something else when it was happening versus how we refer to it now?
Know your dates! When did this happen? How long did it last? Be aware of the approximate range of dates of papers you should be looking in for discussion of any events or people.
Free text searching isn't perfect! Many of these databases will search the entire scanned newspaper for your search terms, but won't always display it logically, the page might seem like it has nothing to do with your topic and you will need to scan over it to see where your term appears. It could also be picking out one word and choosing that. You may have to try multiple terms or combinations.
Get ready for gaps! Many of these digitized historic newspaper resources will have gaps in their offerings. Even when they say they have a publication from 1881-1930, it could be that they only have one issue from 1881, none from 1883 and everything for 1919. Be ready to hop around resources to try to find what you need. In some cases, there may not be any coverage for that publication for that year at all.
Be patient! This sort of searching takes time and patience, don't expect to find everything you need in one sitting. Be patient and be creative. And as always: reach out to a librarian if you need help!
Early American Newspapers features cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images. Based largely on Clarence Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers,1690-1820".
From the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh: The Pittsburgh Iron & Steel Heritage Collection is a digital compilation of books, journals, photographs, trade catalogs, and related literature. Through this collection, we strive to preserve the culture, heritage and knowledge of our region's industrial past, while enhancing the public's understanding of what made Pittsburgh the "Workshop of the World."
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Each volume offers abstracts and citations for some 8,000 articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences.