Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Important Reference Resources
Critical Terms for Art History
Offers a spirited reassessment of art history's methods and terminology.
The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Met Museum’s collection.
A wiki for the arts, media and humanities.
Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books, and cross-references to other full text titles containing related information.
Dictionary of Visual Discourse
A dialectical lexicon of terms, this dictionary explores the languages and cultures of visual studies.
Not sure what you're looking for?
- Email us and we can help you find books and articles, or use the chat box found below
- You're also welcome to browse books, e-books, articles and more using PittCat+ and our Databases
Librarians you can contact by email:
Kate Joranson: email@example.com
Kiana Jones: firstname.lastname@example.org
About This Guide
This research guide was created to assist students taking Rebecca Giordano's HAA 0030 - Introduction to Modern Art online course.
Looking For Electronic Access?
Did you find a physical book in our catalog, PittCat, or the worldwide catalog Worldcat, that you'd like electronic access to? First check the following databases:
HathiTrust HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Pitt is a HathiTrust Partner Institution; you can log in with your Pitt username and password to get the most out of HathiTrust. For more information, review the HathiTrust Resource Guide
After checking the links above for e-access, if you are unable to find the text you're looking for, email us and we can assist you.
In the case that we have the physical book in our catalog, use the 'Request Now' button found on the right side of each catalog entry. Request just a chapter or section and we will scan it and send you a PDF via email.
For more ways to ask your question,
please visit Ask Us/FAQs