Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
According to The Architect's Handbook of Professional Practice, "[h]istoric preservation services embrace a range of activities that include preservation, rehabilitation, restoration, and reconstruction."
We have many resources in our library system to help you begin or continue your historic preservation research project. We hope that the resources and search tips that we point to and provide in this guide will serve as starting points.
Subject headings are a set of terms or phrases that classify materials. To perform a subject search using one of the subject headings listed below, follow these steps:
- Go to www.library.pitt.edu homepage
- Click the PittCat Classic tab
- Select Subject Heading from the dropdown menu
- Enter "Historic Preservation" for example
- Click Enter
Subject Headings - General:
- Historic Preservation
- Historic Preservation--International Cooperation
- Historic Preservation--Law and Legislation--United States
- Buildings --Repair and Reconstruction
- Historic Sites--Conservation and Restoration
- Architecture--Conservation and Restoration
- Cultural Property
- Cultural Policy
- Pittsburgh (Pa.)--Buildings, Structures, etc
Through our library system, students and faculty have access to many Art and Architecture Databases. The following databases would be the most helpful when doing historic preservation related research.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals provides citations to more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Also includes major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
Bibliography of the History of Art Repertoire de la litterature de l'art
The Bibliography of the History of Art is the most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. This database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and articles from over 4,300 periodicals.
Art Full Text
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
JSTOR is an online collection of academic journals in all fields.
To learn how to access newspapers through Pitt's library system, take a look at this library guide:
The WorldCat database is the OCLC Online Union Catalog. It contains more than 450 million records in 484 languages describing items owned by our libraries or 10,000 other libraries around the world.
If there is a book or other resource that our library system does not own, and if that book is unavailable through E-Z Borrow, WorldCat is a great option for searching libraries worldwide, who you can request the book from, have it sent to Pitt, and borrow it for a short amount of time.
One great way to search WorldCat for resources would be to compare subject headings by searching the same subject headings contained within our catalog that you used previously to search for materials in our library.