Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Research Theory & Praxis
Handbook of Feminist Research: Theory & Praxis by
Call Number: HQ1180 .H35 2012
Publication Date: 2012
This Handbook presents both a theoretical and practical approach to conducting social science research on, for, and about women. It develops an understanding of feminist research by introducing a range of feminist epistemologies, methodologies, and emergent methods that have had a significant impact on feminist research practice and women's studies scholarship.
Feminist Evaluation and Research (EBOOK) by
Publication Date: 2014
This thought-provoking book explores the 'whats,' 'whys,' and 'hows' of integrating feminist theory and methods into applied research and evaluation practice.
The SAGE Handbook of Innovation in Social Research Methods by
Call Number: H62 .S334 2011
Publication Date: 2011 and Ebook
The main features of the Handbook are: Clear organization into 4 parts dealing with The Social Context of Research; Design and Data Collection; Integrating The Analysis of New Data Types; Sampling, Inference and Measurement.
Selected Reference (Ebooks)
The SAGE Handbook of Action Research by
Publication Date: 2015, 3rd Ed.
The third edition of The SAGE Handbook of Action Research presents an updated version of the bestselling text, including new chapters covering emerging areas in healthcare, social work, education and international development, as well as an expanded 'skills' section which includes new consultant-relevant materials.
Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories (EBOOK) by
Publication Date: 2002
This volume offers a multidisciplinary insight into the complex field of feminist thought. It contains over 500 commissioned from an international team of contributors and includes explanations of key themes and ideas. Each entry contains cross references and a bibliographic guide to further reading. Over 50 biographical entries provide readers with a sense of how the theories they encounter have developed out of the lives and situations of their authors.
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender (EBOOK) by
Publication Date: 2001
The study of gender differences began in earnest in the 1970s and has since increased dramatically to infiltrate virtually all fields of study in the social and behavioral sciences. Along the way, it was discovered that while women very often think and behave differently than do men, industrialized societies cater to masculine perspectives. The Encyclopedia of Gender covers all three areas under one cover, discussing psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior.
Feminist Research Practice by
Publication Date: 2013
The fully revised and updated Second Edition of Feminist Research Practice: A Primer, edited by Sharlene Nagy Hesse-Biber, draws on the expertise of a stellar group of interdisciplinary scholars who cover cutting-edge research methods and explore research questions related to the complex and diverse issues that deeply impact women's lives. This text offers a unique hands-on approach to research by featuring engaging and relevant exercises as well as behind-the-scenes glimpses of feminist researchers at work. The in-depth examples cover the range of research questions that feminists engage with, including issues of gender inequality, violence against women, body image issues, and the discrimination of other marginalized groups.
Feminist Activist Ethnography (EBOOK) by
Publication Date: 2013
Writing in the wake of neoliberalism, where human rights and social justice have increasingly been subordinated to proliferating consumer choices and ideals of market justice, contributors to this collection argue that feminist ethnographers are in a key position to reassert the central feminist connections between theory, methods, and activism. Together, we suggest avenues for incorporating methodological innovations, collaborative analysis, and collective activism in our scholarly projects.
Need Help? Chat with a Librarian!
For more ways to ask your question,
please visit Ask Us/FAQs