Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Ethnic Group Resources at Pitt Archives
The links below will direct you to resources at the Pitt Archives on particular religious and ethnic groups in Pittsburgh. As Dr. Musekamp suggests, you can also start your search in Historic Pittsburgh.
Historic Pittsburgh is a digital collection that provides an opportunity to explore and research the history of Pittsburgh and the surrounding Western Pennsylvania area on the Internet. It is a joint project of the University of Pittsburgh and the Historical Society of Western Pennsylvania. Most of the materials in Historic Pittsburgh's Full-Text Collection were published or produced before the early 1920s and are out of print or not readily accessible.
Social Explorer has historical Census data which can help you find out the ethnic and racial makeup of Pittsburgh over the years. Please contact Chris Lemery if you need assistance using this resource.
Social Explorer is mainly an interactive map of demographic information drawn from the US Census. Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. Note: Creation of a Personal Account is required to fully access all Social Explorer features.
Below are some of the major Pittsburgh newspapers. You may also want to take a look at our Pittsburgh & Regional Newspaper Guide for newspapers published by various ethnic groups in the city.
Interactive online edition of the Post Gazette that contains current information. The web site includes a wealth of information about the Pittsburgh region, current events and activities, in-depth looks at major news stories, and world and national news.
Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2002
The Pittsburgh Courier was one of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers and reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights.