Guides: ENGWRT 1750: Senior Seminar in Nonfiction: Articles & Databases

Liaison Librarian

Leslie Poljak

Email Me

Contact:

405 Hillman Library
Pittsburgh, PA 15260
412-648-3901

Subjects: English (Comp Literature & Writing), French & Italian Languages & Literatures

Starting out? Try Credo.

Additional Guides, Databases, and Links

PittCat

PittCat is the main searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library System (ULS), including articles, books, ebooks, journal articles, ejournals, audio and video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.

PittCat
Access PittCat directly or use the ULS homepage.

Databases

A database is an online collection of articles and information you can search by using a special interface. Databases are often subject or resource specific, allowing you to select a database to search based on your information need.

Listed below are databases that are subject specific in areas including humanities, education, and science. For more databases, please visit the ULS's Databases A-Z.

Newspaper Databases

Historical Newspaper Databases
A full list of historic newspaper databases. A link is also provided for historical Pittsburgh newspapers.
Pittsburgh & Regional Newspapers
A guide to the local newspaper holdings of Hillman Library.

Here is listing of databases in our Databases A-Z listing that feature current newspapers available online in our collections.

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (Historical) This link opens in a new window
This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text for the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. [Formerly titled: Academic Lexis-Nexis]
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Ethnic NewsWatch contains nearly 500,000 complete articles dating back to 1990 from 200 publications. English and Spanish language search options are available.
National Newspapers (Current) (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
National Newspapers via ProQuest provides full text access to Christian Science Monitor (1988 - current), Los Angeles Times (Dec. 4, 1881 - Dec. 31, 1987), New York Times (1851 - current), Wall Street Journal (1889-current), Washington Post (1877-current)
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides access to both national and international newspapers, and contains abstracts and indexing from the following papers (cover to cover): the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, and USA Today. This is an EBSCOHost database.

Additional Databases

America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Each volume offers abstracts and citations for some 8,000 articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
ERIC, sponsored by the US Department of Education, is the premier national bibliographic database of education literature. ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education and Current Index. The database also includes the full text of ERIC Digest Records. Ebsco and CSA are subscription services that offer sophisticated interfaces. The third option is to search the database via the government's web portal.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor has collections of over 500,000 digital art images and associated data that can be used for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Bank contains Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated and Biography Index Plus, in one integrated database. Wilson Biographies Plus contains more than 95,000 biographies and obituaries and more than 26,000 photographs of the subjects. Many of the biographies are enhanced with full text, abstracts, and citations from H. W. Wilson databases.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

ENGWRT 1750: Senior Seminar in Nonfiction