Skip to main content

East Asian Library

This LibGuide provides information about the East Asian Library's resources and services, including useful LibGuides in Chinese, Japanese and Korean, as well as news from around Hillman Library, and recent events in the East Asian Library.

About the EAL

EAL Chinese Logo

Welcome to the East Asian Library!                            

The University Library System (ULS) at the University of Pittsburgh (Pitt) began its Chinese collection in 1960 after Pitt was selected as one of the 20 National Defense Education Act centers for Chinese studies. Five years later, the East Asian Library (EAL) was established to include the Japanese collection as well. The Korean collection has been systematically developed since 2003.

Today, the EAL has grown to become one of the most prominent East Asian collections in North America. As of June 2016, the library ranks the 15th in size among East Asian collections in North America and is the largest resource center in the Tri-state area (Pennsylvania, Ohio, and West Virginia). The library's primary mission is to support the Asian Studies Center (ASC) for instruction and research in Chinese, Japanese and Korean studies.

Click to visit the East Asian Library website.

*The Chinese emblem of EAL was written by Wang Xizhi (王羲之, AD303-361, also Wang Hsi-chih ). He was a famous calligrapher who lived in the Jin Dynasty. His masterpiece has been studied by generations of students and used as examples to learn and practice the art of calligraphy. We collected the characters he wrote and modified them a little bit to create our Chinese logo. Click to view the Fullsize EAL Chinese Logo.

August 23, 2018 update: Our offices are now on the newly-renovated fourth floor of Hillman! Come to see us in room 420. 

For now, our CJK collections will remain in their current position on the second floor.

420 Hillman Library
3960 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15260

an ancient brick given by Peking Universitythe package of the ancient brick

This is a brick from the ancient city wall of Beijing. It was made in 1557, in the 36th year of the reign of the Jiajing Emperor of the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644). The brick is carved with the words “嘉靖三十六年分窯戶王保造,” denoting the time of the brick’s creation and its maker’s name.

In summer 1979, a group of visiting scholars from the University of Pittsburgh went to Peking University for an academic exchange. At that time, Beijing was undergoing much urban construction, and some of the original city wall was being dismantled. One of the scholars asked to keep a brick from the wall as a souvenir of the exchange between the two universities. Peking University sent an application to the government unit in charge of cultural relics. Beijing’s local branch of this unit took responsibility for preparing the brick for delivery to the University of Pittsburgh.

In spring 1980, this brick, which was specially selected as the souvenir, was brought to the University of Pittsburgh by Peking University’s HOU Renzhi (侯仁之). Soon after that, Wesley W. Posvar, then chancellor of the University of Pittsburgh, wrote to ZHOU Peiyuan (周培源), then chancellor of Peking University, to express his gratitude to HOU Renzhi.

The East Asian Library (EAL), University Library System (ULS) at the University of Pittsburgh is pleased to announce its 2019 travel grants. These grants are made available through special funding from the Asian Studies Center at the University of Pittsburgh. The purpose of the grants is to support scholars who wish to do research at the East Asian Library, University of Pittsburgh. The grants will be available up to $500 for each candidate, depending on the need and the location of the individual. Special consideration will be given to those researchers in Pennsylvania and the nearby region whose libraries have no major East Asian collections, and those who have not received such grants previously.

The East Asian Library at Pitt consists of over 490,000 volumes/items in Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and English. The primary focus of the collections is humanities and social sciences. 

Applications received before May 31, 2019 will receive priority consideration. To apply, please send a letter of application with a brief description of your research topic, a curriculum vitae, the type/subject of materials you need, and an estimated budget to Haihui Zhang, Head of the East Asian Library at haihuiz@pitt.edu

Loading ...