Since Edgar Allan Poe invented the modern mystery novel in the mid-19th century, the number of authors writing in this field has steadily increased along with a demand for such literature. As a response to such growth, this text features articles on 100 of the most important writers of the genre.
Covering a broad spectrum of primary and secondary reference resources about mystery and detective fiction, this annotated bibliography focuses on all print and key electronic sources in the field that are produced in English. Organized thematically, it reviews encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, annotated guides, bibliographies, bio-bibliographies, vade mecums, compendiums, indexes, and so on. Many Web sites are also described. Lengthy, informed reviews often provide evaluative information and compare books to similar or related titles.
Library Quick Links
Below are some links to help you navigate the University Library System:
This selection of Poe's critical writings, short fiction and poetry demonstrates his intense interests in aesthetic issues, and the astonishing power and imagination with which he probed the darkest corners of the human mind.
This collection includes many of the famous cases - and great strokes of brilliance - that made the legendary Sherlock Holmes one of fiction's most popular creations. With his devoted amanuensis, Dr Watson, Holmes emerges from his smoke filled rooms in Baker Street to grapple with the forces of treachery, intrigue and evil in such cases as 'The Speckled Band', in which a terrified woman begs their help in solving the mystery surrounding her sister's death.
From one of the most widely admired--and widely read--writers of detective fiction at work today: a personal, lively, and illuminating exploration of the human appetite for mystery and mayhem, and those writers who have satisfied it. Here is the perfect marriage of author and subject: essential for every lover of detective fiction.