Skip to main content

Communication Process - Oakland Campus: Welcome

This research guide is for Dr. Gareis' COMMRC 0300 Communication Process class, Fall 2017.

Assignment Database

For the Article Analysis assignment you will need to search the Communication & Mass Media Complete database. For tips on how to construct your search, refine results, and track down complete article text when not directly linked in the database, see the page under the "Articles" tab above. Off campus & can't connect? See the EZProxy FAQ  or try the tips in the Trouble-Shoot Problems box, lower right on this page.

Library Class Visit

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-q8qQPHqB9G4/UYo8WO6gK3I/AAAAAAAAAcM/eX1ysqztH3U/s1600/hillman1.jpg

The library visit for this course focuses on how to search for, obtain, read and understand journal literature in the field. Also:

  • Journal publishing process
  • Proper citation of sources
  • Contacting Liaisons for help

Journals

FULL-TEXT in CMMC

 

Argumentation & Advocacy

 

Communication & Critical/Cultural Studies*

 

Howard Journal of Communications*

 

Qualitative Research Reports in Communication

 

Journal of International and Intercultural Communication

 

Rhetoric & Public Affairs

 

Signs

 

Women & Language

 

FOLLOW “ARTICLE AVAILABILITY”

 

Communication Research ***

use ISSN: 00936502 to find!

 

Communication Theory ***

use ISSN: 10503293

 

Quarterly Journal of Speech

 

Critical Studies in Media Communication

  

Journal of Applied Communication Research

 

Media, Culture and Society

 

Western Journal of Communication

 

Cultural Studies*

 

Visual Rhetoric*

Communication Process

H2Cathy!Welcome!  This LibGuide will help you with research for COMMRC 0300 aassignments. Use the tabs above to view the sections. Please ask us if you have questions or need help with your research. Contact information for your Liaison Librarian to the Department of Communication is under the last tab.

Communication Process (3 credits) is an introduction to basic theories, models, and concepts in interpersonal, small group, organizational and intercultural communication. One of three Core Courses for Communication majors, and a pre-requisite for most upper-level courses, it also meets the Humanities General Education Requirement for College of General Studies students. There are about 200 students taking COMMRC 0300 this term.

Department of Communication

The study of communication and rhetoric is one of the oldest and also one of the most contemporary of fields. Communication majors examine important questions about society, government, business, communication, and persuasion in a way that combines the best of the ancient liberal arts tradition with critical attention to the newest media technologies and trends.

In courses such as ethics, persuasion, argument, interpersonal communication, political rhetoric, rhetoric of science, nonverbal communication, history of media, media criticism, and television and society, faculty offer diverse views on the roles of communication, media, and rhetoric in our lives.

About 500 students are currently enrolled in the communication program, which offers 41 undergraduate courses.

The Department's Speech Resources and Databases page

Professional Associations

Style Guides

Essential Links

Use the PITTCat+ search engine on the library home page to search across many library resources for books, ebooks, articles, and archives.

Browse the full list of Pitt's article databases by name from A to Z, or by subject, to link directly to general or specialized collections of complete full-text journal, newspaper, magazine, ebook and multi-media content.

Trouble-Shoot Problems

Don't waste hours being frustrated when something isn't working, ASK!

  • On Wireless PittNet?
  • Try Firefox or Internet Explorer?
  • Enable cookies, allow pop-ups!