Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions, and curated by experts in British arts history. Covering more than a century, British Theatre, Music, and Literature is without equal as a resource for 19th century scholars. These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions, and curated by experts in British arts history.
Picchi Etiquette Collection
The Picchi Etiquette Collection contains several hundred books that detail etiquette customs in the 19th century. Books from this collection must be requested through Get It and will then be able to be viewed in the Archives & Special Collections reading room.
19th Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This database contains 1.2 million pages of periodicals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900. It includes publications on women, children, leisure and sport, and humor.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes British national and regional newspapers between 1741-1950 including those from the Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention is given to newspapers that helped lead particular political and social movements like Home Rule.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
On completion this unique digital archive will consist of almost 500 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s.