Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Use History of Art & Architecture Databases to find more on Zoe Leonard.
Example Search in the ARTbibliographies Modern Database or Art Full Text Database:
- In the first search box type in "Zoe Leonard"
To make your searches more specific, use the Advanced Search boxes to add more keywords to your search.
Note: Not all databases will have articles about any given artist. You will need to search in more than one database.
A major photographic project examines the disappearing face of twentieth-century urban life and the increasing obsolescence of non-digital photography. The photographs in Zoe Leonard's Analogue trace the layered, frayed, and quirky beauty of a fading way of life. The shop windows of mom-and-pop stores lack the glamour of the shopping mall and the digitally manipulated perfection of mail order catalogs. These fading objects tenaciously hold onto their disappearing place on city streets.
Zoe Leonard: Photographs, Fotomuseum Winterthur by
Photographer Zoe Leonard practices a type of cerebral roaming combined with carefully considered observation. For more than 20 years, she has crisscrossed nature and culture, cityscapes and museums, always searching for signs that say something about structures, about natural and cultural conditions and the contradictions, parallels, and connections between them.
Zoe Leonard: Survey by
Accompanying a major museum survey of the work of Zoe Leonard, this gorgeous book offers an in-depth look at one of the most influential artists of her generation.
Zoe Leonard: Radical Reversibility
Six camera obscura installations by New York-based artist Zoe Leonard offered spaces of imagination that were both primal and timely. Leonard’s installations threw into relief the false interactivity and utter commodification of the self that dominate in today’s e-culture. They heightened awareness of our fleeting human vision, leading to an intensity of thought and feeling without a portable or recorded image.
Photography, the Archive, and the Question of Feminist Form: A Conversation with Zoe Leonard
An interview with U.S. artist Zoe Leonard on the topic of her artistic piece "You see I am here after all" is presented. When asked why she chose to gather postcards of Niagara Falls to form the work, Leonard says initially she wanted to exhibit postcards of waterfalls in general. According to Leonard, Niagara Falls used to symbolize nature's grandeur, but is now a symbol for romance and marriage.