Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Use History of Art & Architecture Databases to find more on Ulrike Müller.
Example Search in the ARTbibliographies Modern Database or Art Full Text Database:
- In the first search box type in "Ulrike Müller"
To make your searches more specific, use the Advanced Search boxes to add more keywords to your search.
Note: Not all databases will have articles about any given artist. You will need to search in more than one database.
Bauhaus Women: Art, Handicraft, Design by
This monograph, published to coincide with the Bauhaus exhibition at the MoMA (November 8, 2009 - January 25, 2010), celebrates the work of twenty women artists who created feverishly in all the teaching, workshop, and production branches of the Bauhaus—women who should have been included in the major art histories of the twentieth century long ago, but whose names, masterpieces, and extraordinary lives have only gradually become known to us.
Every Little Bit Helps : Ulrike Müller, Two Audio Works by
This book references multiple works by Ulrike Müller, including "New York Times (February 16-22, 2003)" and "One of Us (Freakish Moments)". Regarding "New York Times (February 16-22, 2003)", Gregg Bordowitz explains, "If one chose to look out the window while listening to Müller's spoken text, it was easy to attribute the first-person monologue to any of the many, many figures crisscrossing the busy street below...The monologue seemed to express what any of the figures outside could be thinking as they went about their daily business."
AUCH WIDER DEM VERBOTE by
This book was originally presented as Ulrike Müller's thesis (doctoral) at the Universitat Hamburg, 1989.
Ulrike Müller: 'Herstory Inventory: 100 Feminist Drawings by 100 Artists'
This article introduces an exhibition at the KUB Arena, Kunsthaus Bregenz, Austria in which Ulrike Müller invited 100 artists to contribute drawings based on objects from the Lesbian History Archive, a non-commercial archive of lesbian life and community in Brooklyn where she was carrying out research. The author applauds Müller's achievement in creating an environment in which feminism is a constant and positive presence rather than an expression of political or artistic antagonism.
Ulrike Müller - Why I Paint
"Müller’s geometric designs are only a part of a rich and variegated practice that actively engages with feminist and queer histories...Müller is constantly investigating the ways that form crosses over and intersects with questions of representation, identity and the body."