Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Use History of Art & Architecture Databases to find more on Thaddeus Mosley.
Example Search in the ARTbibliographies Modern Database or Art Full Text Database:
- In the first search box type in "Thaddeus Mosley"
To make your searches more specific, use the Advanced Search boxes to add more keywords to your search.
Note: Not all databases will have articles about any given artist. You will need to search in more than one database.
Thaddeus Mosley: African-American Sculptor by
Thaddeus "Thad" Mosley is a self-taught African American sculptor. Earning a living throughout his adult life as a postal worker in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania-- so that he could support his family by day and work as a sculptor by night-- he has evolved an individual and powerful African American voice. He worked alone, patiently developing a sculptural language absolutely his own, yet traceable to his primary sources of inspiration: the vitality of African art and American jazz and two twentieth-century artists.
Discovering Pittsburgh's Sculpture by
"This is a book about public sculpture in Pittsburgh, and it amply demonstrates that there is more sculpture in public places in Pittsburgh and in Allegheny County than one would suspect." The book includes images and descriptions of Mosley's works "Phoenix" and "Legacy of Harriet Tubman" as well as a brief biography of the artist.
Installations, Mattress Factory, 1990-1999 by
Located on Pittsburgh's North Side and internationally recognized for the quality of its artistic and educational programs, the Mattress Factory is one of the few museums in the world that focuses exclusively on installation art. "Installations" is an exciting exploration of site-specific artworks by Kiki Smith, John Cage, Thaddeus Mosley, and many other artists from around the world. Statements by the artists, verbal descriptions of the eighty-seven works presented during the 1990s, and insightful essays on different facets of installation art add depth to this remarkable photographic record.
The Aesthete in Pittsburgh: Public Sculpture in an Ordinary American City
The author considers the role of public sculpture in an ordinary American city and provides historical and geographical information about Pittsburgh's artistic and cultural scene. He comments on sculptures in Pittsburgh, including Thaddeus Mosley's "Phoenix" (1979). He also considers the difference between public sculpture and sculpture in a museum setting, notes that much public sculpture fails to be fully site-specific, and mentions that cities often regard public sculpture as an essential to their development.
Pittsburgh Sculptor Thaddeus Mosley: 90 Years in the Woods
"The beginning came at age 28, when he made his first sculptures — fish and water birds carved from a 2-by-4, with legs or stands made of brass or steel. He saw similar pieces for sale with Scandinavian furniture in Kaufmann’s Downtown department store in the 1950s. 'Heck, I can do that,' he thought to himself."