Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Use History of Art & Architecture Databases to find more on Mel Bochner.
Example Search in the ARTbibliographies Modern Database or Art Full Text Database:
- In the first search box type in "Mel Bochner"
To make your searches more specific, use the Advanced Search boxes to add more keywords to your search.
Note: Not all databases will have articles about any given artist. You will need to search in more than one database.
Mel Bochner: Voices by
Mel Bochner pioneered the introduction of the use of language in the visual, probing the way they relate to one another to make us more attentive to the unspoken codes that underpin our visual engagement with the world. Featuring color plates of more than thirty paintings and an essay by Jeremy Sigler, this publication offers a new perspective on Mel Bochner's career-long engagement with language and painting. Sigler points to how Bochner's newest images signal a return to visceral materiality, revealing the unexpected painterly roots of his body of work.
Mel Bochner: Language, 1966-2006 by
This book provides an overview of Mel Bochner's language-based works from the past forty years. Long preoccupied by language and its influence on vision and perception, Bochner has recently shifted from a more analytical use of language to an exploration of the way in which color diverts a text from its duty to convey meaning. As a result, language becomes a tool in Bochner's interrogation into how an object can function as a work of art.
Mel Bochner by
New York-based Conceptual art pioneer Mel Bochner writes in this monograph, "What I try to do is stay open to the work as it develops, not impose myself on it, but permit it to take me somewhere. If I had a model, I suppose it would be those ancient Chinese artists who changed their name three times during their lifetime, in order not to become the prisoner of a style." The book introduces new riffs on several well-known bodies of work, including Bochner's recent ongoing series "The Thesaurus Paintings," in which a group of often humorous synonyms are painted in brightly colored block letters, and the "Measurement Pieces", in which the walls are highlighted with numbered arrows indicating their measurements.
Mel Bochner: Words, Words, Words by
This book features an examination of Mel Bochner's unique text-based prints made in collaboration with Two Palms, New York. It includes an essay by Barry Schwabsky and an interview with Mel Bochner.
Mel Bochner’s Thesaurus Paintings
"'One of the guards came up to the curator and said that my show had meant a great deal to all of them, because of this painting,' Bochner said, gesturing toward 'Die,' a thesaurus painting against a Pepto-Bismol-pink background that begins, 'die, decease, expire, perish, succumb, pass away.' 'Some of them had looked at it and cried,' Bochner said. 'Now, I couldn’t have anticipated that response. I never thought, What would a war veteran think looking at a painting that said, ‘Buy the farm, cash in your chips, kick the bucket’?' He paused. 'You put these things out in the world and you just back off, let people make of it what they want.'"
Thought is a Material: Talking with Mel Bochner About Space, Art, and Language
"Although an artist like Bochner may not work using the scientific method, the idea that conceptual artists set out to systematically visualize cognitive structure may guide cognitive neuroscientists to notice previously unseen connections between art and our science."